Jeff & Gia

Message Us

https://www.adoptimist.com/adoption-parent-profile/38490

Last Activity: 4 days ago

About Us

photo of adoptive family's story

Our Story

We met in the 7th grade in a small town in central Massachusetts and have been best friends ever since. We were inseparable then and we're inseparable now! So much so that Gia is Jeff's dental assistant at his dental practice. Gia spent the majority of her adult life in childcare and eventually owned two daycare centers. Jeff has been a dentist for 25 years and loves working with Gia, especially since they're able to have the same schedules and enjoy their time off together.. We enjoy going to concerts, experiencing new restaurants/cuisines, traveling, and going to the beach. The things we probably love the most though, are rooting on our favorite teams, the New England Patriots (we're from Massachusetts), the Carolina Hurricanes (we live in Raleigh), and the Michigan Wolverines (Jeff is a Michigan alum), and spending time with our kids. Jeff enjoys playing golf, doing cross fit, and hiking. Gia loves everything Disney, reading, and camping.

Our Home

photo of adoptive family's home We live in a nice home at the end of a quiet street in a cul-de-sac. We have a big fenced-in back yard and deck where we love to cook out and the dogs love to run around. We live in a suburb of Raleigh, NC close to parks, playgrounds, and greenways. We have so many great museums and children's activities in our area as well.

As a blended family we have a total of 6 children, with only one of them living at home full time. They age from the oldest being 27 to the youngest, who is 10.

The oldest Brianna (27), lives in Massachusetts with our 3 year old granddaughter. The next is Michaela (25) and she is a student at UNC- Wilmington. Connor is 21 and married and lives about 45 minutes away from us in NC. Griffin is 18 and lives in Zebulon, which is about 30 minutes away. Evan is 15 and lives 5 minutes away. We have him on alternating weekends and one night a week. Hunter is 10 and lives with us full time.

When we told all of them we wanted to adopt, they were all so excited and can't wait to welcome a new member to the family!

Gia

adoptive family photo - Gia I grew up in Jefferson,MA with both my parents and my older brother.
As a child I spent a lot of time at ice skating rinks with my family while my brother played hockey and I figure skated. As I got older the sports changed to soccer and softball but we always stayed active and my parents were always involved.
We would take family vacations to Disney World or you would find us camping in NH, no matter where, it was together.

School did not come easy for me but I managed to struggle through and go to Worcester State College for Early Childhood Education. I have always loved children, so much so that I started babysitting at the age of 10!

After I finished school I worked as Lead teacher at a Child Care Center and worked myself up to Assistant Director. I worked with children at all learning levels, some with autism, some with medical issues, some behavioral. It didn't matter to me as long as they enjoyed their day and they were learning. Seeing their excitement from counting to 10 for the first time or writing their name gave me such joy.

In 1991 I married and and in 1993 I had my first child. Having my daughter was a whole different experience than "babysitting" and it gave me a whole new appreciation for the parents at the center I worked at. The 24/7 was a lot harder than I imagined but I loved every minute of it. Even the sleepless nights made me smile. I loved being a mom so much that I ended up having 5 children total. Most of this time was as a single mom because of being divorced, but it made me such a stronger mom. I learned how to be more patient, compromise, and learn what was important and what really wasn't.

As a wife I love with all my heart. He is my best friend who I share everything with. I feel it when he is upset even before he tells me. I will always have his back. He and I enjoy being together so much that we work together. I love this man with all my heart and a child would feel it. They would see such a healthy relationship and I'm so proud to be able to say that.

Having a child together has always been our dream. Since we got together later in life neither of us can have children now so adopting would make this dream a reality.


Jeff

adoptive family photo - Jeff Growing up in a small town in Massachusetts with lots of kids around, we were always outside playing sports, climbing trees, swimming, and riding bikes. I also grew up playing sports, especially soccer, baseball, and golf, and I've always been a huge sports fan.

My mom was instrumental in my becoming a sports fan and we spent most summer evenings watching Red Sox games and football Sundays watching the Patriots. I later attended the University of Michigan and became an avid Michigan Wolverines fan.

Growing up with a single mom, I learned to appreciate hard work and sacrifice. I learned at an early age how to take care of myself, do laundry, cook, clean, and take care of the house. She made me appreciate how important it was to be a good and present parent. She played catch with me in the back yard, took me to all my practices, and was at all my games. She and I also played a lot of golf together, which allowed us to spend a lot of quality time together. This is one reason I love taking our boys golfing because when you're on a golf cart together, you have no other option than to talk to each other.

Gia and I have a pretty crazy story. We met in the 7th grade and became high school sweethearts through our junior year in high school. Life took us on different paths, but we found ourselves back together later in life, each with our own children and lots of stories to share. We got married in October of 2019 and all was right with the world...except for one thing. We always wanted to have a child together, which brings us here. She's the best person I know and makes me appreciate life and love more than anyone ever has. We are truly best friends and love spending time together, and having a child together would honestly be a dream come true.

I'm a laid back guy that tries not to take things too seriously. I'm always joking with the kids and trying to put a smile on their faces. I love going to concerts, being outside, trying new things, trying new restaurants and new cuisines, and going to the movies or watching some old favorites on tv. I try to stay healthy by participating in Crossfit for the last 7 years and I keep my mind healthy by doing daily crossword puzzles and other word puzzles. I'm very curious and am always looking things up on Google. I definitely consider myself to be a bit of nerd and I love trivia. Education is very important to me and will be very important to any child we bring into the family.

Being a father is one of life's great gifts and I like to think I'm pretty good at it. The thought of having a new baby in our life and family brings me such great joy.

Thank You for Visiting Our Adoption Profile

We want to thank you for considering us as adoptive parents for your child.

We truly appreciate your kindness and strength and look forward to hearing from you.

Sincerely,

Jeff & Gia

Visit Our Website or View More Families
Jeff & Gia