Kate B.

Contact Us

https://www.adoptimist.com/adoption-parent-profile/38789

Last Activity: 15 hours ago

About Me

photo of adoptive family's story

My Story

Hi! I am Kate, an adventurous, open minded woman on a journey to build a family through an open adoption! Since I was a child I knew I wanted to adopt, and now that I own a home and am well established in my career, I am excited to start this journey!

I would love to build a relationship with an expectant mom and/or dad considering adoption. I want to help them find the resources they need to make one of the hardest decisions of their lives. If they choose me to raise their child after they have explored all their options, I want their child to grow up with an understanding of their history and a confidence in their journey, and that starts with knowing their first family/birth family. That is why an open adoption is important to me. I want the first family/birth family to guide the level of openness they are comfortable with, but hope one day we will all be comfortable enough to share family trips together and celebrate holidays in each other’s homes.

I would love to raise a child(ren) of any gender, race, ethnicity, or culture. I would work hard to preserve their cultural history while sharing mine. I am open to adopting a sibling group too.

I have been a foster parent, but would like to now focus on building my forever family and hope you will consider joining mine.

My Home

photo of adoptive family's home I own a 4 bedroom, 3 bathroom home situated on a 1/3 of an acre lot. There is a playscape, a garden, and lots of trees in the backyard. Plenty of room for playing outside!

As I love to read, I decorated the nursery in the theme of one of my favorite childhood books: The Tales of Peter Rabbit!

My house is located in a cul-de-sac in a quite neighborhood with lots of trees and sidewalks. There are two parks and a walking/bike trail within walking distance from my house, and the two parks have playscapes for children.

My neighborhood has children of all ages, and when the weather is nice kids and their parents spend time riding bikes, taking walks through the neighborhood, or playing games in our cul-de-sac.

Kate

adoptive family photo - Kate I live in North Dakota, but have strong Texas roots, as that is where I was born and raised. I am half Hispanic and speak some Spanish. I have a great work-life balance and love to travel. I have two cats (Grant and Tex) and a large Swiss Mountain Dog named Gibson. I have three sisters and two brothers (one of whom was adopted) and a niece and nephew. I was raised by my mom who still lives in Texas near the city I grew up in.

All of my friends are very supportive of my plans to adopt. I live 2 miles from one of my best friends and we often talk about the adventures we will have raising our future kids near each other (she’s adopting too!).

Whether it’s camping, hiking, gardening, or taking Gibson on a walk, I love spending time outdoors! My backyard garden, filled with flowers and vegetables, keeps me outside in the summer. In the winter sledding and hiking are my outdoor activities.

When I have more free time I love to travel. I always take one international trip each year to a place I’ve never been. On long weekends I take road trips to hiking trails and state or national parks with Gibson. I always make it a point to visit family and friends when traveling and have taken many trips with my sisters and friends. Because I love to travel, supporting an open adoption through in person visits is an easy yes for me!

My day to day past times include spending time in my back yard garden; listening to audiobooks; and cooking new dishes or passed down family recipes for dinner. I hope you will share some of your family recipes with me too!

My Furry Family Members

adoptive family photo - My Furry Family Members Gibson is an 8 year old Greater Swiss Mountain dog. He loves spending time in our big backyard and in the winter you can find him romping through the snow. He loves getting pet by people of all ages, but children are his favorite. When my friends bring their kids over to my house he will stick by their side as they play, and when it’s story time he lays by the rocking chair in the nursery to be close to us. Gibson’s favorite pastimes are long walks in the neighborhood and chasing bubbles in the backyard (he has his own bubble machine)!

Grant is a 12 year old gray and white domestic short hair cat. As an older cat, he isn’t as playful as he once was. He is more shy now and prefers to nap in sunny spots or curl up on your lap for pets. His most notable characteristic is his quiet and timid meows. As a 13 pound cat, his soft voice surprises people when they first meet him.

Tex is a 9 year old brown and black domestic short hair cat. He loves to play and is very vocal when he sees someone he knows come into the house. He is also quite the cuddler and loves to follow me around the house to watch what I am doing. His most notable characteristic is his fascination with water. Whether washing the dishes or Gibson getting a bath, Tex is always standing by to play in/with the water.

Thank You for Visiting Our Adoption Profile

We want to thank you for considering us as adoptive parents for your child.

We truly appreciate your kindness and strength and look forward to hearing from you.

Sincerely,

Kate B.
512-640-9603 (toll-free)

Visit Our Website or View More Families
Kate B.