| 551-999-0611

Renee O

https://www.adoptimist.com/adoption-parent-profile/28004

About Me

My Story

I have never been blessed with a child. For as long as I can remember, I wanted more than anything to be a mother – it was my biggest dream in life. When I was told I’d never be able to give birth to a child, I was devastated and heartbroken. To cope, I had convinced myself that I was fine with it – I’d focus on my nieces, nephew, godchildren and all my friend’s children and I’d make my career my top priority. But as life progressed, I knew that all the love and joy I have felt for the other children in my life, would not compare to the joy and love I would feel for my own child. And so, my path has brought me here today to you. Thank you for getting to know me and considering me as a parent for your child.

My Home

photo of adoptive family's home I live in a townhouse near the water in Jersey City, NJ with my two little dogs Lacy and Jojo and we live close to my family and to all the wonderful things in New York City. We are close to the city but still suburban enough to enjoy a day in the park or activities involving nature and the outdoors. What’s wonderful about NJ is that you are less than an hour to the mountains, beaches, countryside or city. It is a wonderful state full of culture and diversity.

About Renee

adoptive family photo - Renee Five Fun Facts:
• I love the Statue of Liberty. Where I live in NJ, I can see her every day.
• My home is filled with little pieces of art or handmade trinkets from places I’ve traveled.
• A guilty pleasure of mine is reading my horoscope.
• My favorite family recipe is Bacon Bread.
• I collect heart-shaped rocks.

UPBRINGING
I come from a big family – I’m one of four children. I have three brothers all of whom are married, two of whom have children. My parents were married for 48-years before my mother passed away 4 years ago. Her death, and the years that have followed, have shown me, again, how important family is. My mother was an exceptional woman – a devoted mother and wife, a loyal patriot, she was a United States Marine, and a faithful Catholic. We were not wealthy but we were beyond rich in love and support. We are a close, tight-knit family and I had the pleasure of growing up next door to my maternal grandparents. I was very close with my grandmother and when it comes to my love of cooking, gardening and sewing, it was she, who was my biggest influence.

I attended Catholic school for most of my life and participated in many activities including cheerleading, gymnastics, cross country, 4-H, piano and flute, girl scouts, swimming and dance. I fondly remember my childhood as a happy one full of love and laughter. And although having three brothers wasn’t always easy, we had, and still have, a very close relationship. We all enjoy a good laugh and if you asked them what their greatest influence was on me, they would tell you it was my great sense of humor, and they’re probably right. Having three brothers does teach you that you can’t always take life too seriously, can’t sweat the small stuff and if you have a box of twinkies, you had better find the ultimate hiding spot for them because brothers have a better nose than a bloodhound when it comes to finding food that their sister is hiding.

CAREER
I originally went to college to become a Special Ed Teacher but decided at the end of my sophomore year to pursue a career in science and studied chemistry. When I graduated, I got a job as a cosmetic chemist for a leading beauty company making lipstick; it was a dream job. Since then, my entire career has been in the beauty industry and I develop color cosmetics, fragrances, bath & body products and home items, like candles and air fresheners. I now have my own business, which is primarily home based, and I develop products for several brands and retailers. This has afforded me the flexibility to balance my career, life and family, which is very important to me. I also mentor students who want to get into this field and have gone on to get my graduate degree in marketing and management.

RELATIONSHIPS
I have never been married but very close twice. I have had wonderful men in my life but never quite felt they were my soul-mate. My parents were significant role models for me and seeing what they had in their marriage, set the bar high for me regarding my relationships. Theirs was one of great respect, integrity and love for each other and I don’t want to settle for anything less than that for myself. My parents had such a big influence on all of us and it warms my heart to see my brothers as such loving, devoted husbands and hands-on, attentive dads. My father and brothers couldn’t be more thrilled when they heard the news that I wanted to adopt.

FOR FUN
I enjoy exercising (running, biking and yoga), love art and being creative (painting, ceramics, knitting and sewing) and traveling, locally or abroad. One of my most memorable trips was to India. My best friend Sheree married her husband there and we spent three weeks traveling throughout the country and exploring the culture. I can’t wait to share these experiences with a child.

I also love gardening, cooking and baking and have a passion for decorating, so I enjoy updating my home for the seasons and holidays. When it comes to the holidays, one of the biggest and most celebrated in my family is Christmas Eve. My father’s family is Italian so we celebrate the Feast of the Seven Fishes on Christmas Eve, which really means that we cook-up and eat a lot of fish. My father and I usually do all the cooking and we have an open door policy with family, friends and neighbors – everyone is invited! I have thirteen first cousins on my father’s side alone so this is the time of year when we usually reconnect and see one another. I also do the most baking during the holidays and make sweet deliveries all through the month of December to my neighbors, clients, co-workers and people that have touched my life. It’s such a wonderful time of year.

I have a soft spot for animals and my recent canine addition, Jojo, was found while I was traveling to work. She was in a very bad state - clearly neglected and on her own for some time, was severely malnourished and dehydrated. Within a few weeks, she had completely transformed and she is now a very happy and sweet addition. She and Lacy are about 10 lbs each and are mixed breeds. Lacy is 11-years old and Jojo is around 5-years old. They both have a gentle and loving disposition and have their own unique personalities. I have had pets my whole life – everything from cats and dogs to fish and birds. We even had turtles and once a squirrel. We found many of our pets, or maybe they found us but either way, our home was always full of animals. My father grew up on a farm in NJ, which is still in our family, and both he and my mother had a great respect for nature and animals, which was instilled in me.

OPEN ADOPTION
As part of the adoption process, it was recommended I take classes to learn more about adoption, what to expect during and after the process and what different types of adoptions there were. Without a doubt, the only adoption option for me is an open adoption. I may not know my child yet, but I already know that I love him or her and that their life is my top priority. Because family has always been so important to me, it is important for my child to know their family, and that includes their birth parents and birth family. I want my child’s birth parents and birth family to be a part of our lives and a part of us.

I can’t wait to hear from you and get to know you. We have so much to talk about and I am excited to learn about who you are and what your hopes and dreams are. Please feel free to call/text me at 551-999-0611 or email me at reneeo2017@outlook.com.

Thank You for Visiting Our Adoption Profile

We want to thank you for considering us as adoptive parents for your child.

We truly appreciate your kindness and strength and look forward to hearing from you.

Sincerely,

Renee O

551-999-0611 (toll-free)

or View More Families
Renee O