Kirk and Julie

https://www.adoptimist.com/adoption-parent-profile/27965

About Us

photo of adoptive family's story

Our Story

We are Julie and Kirk, parents of Thomas, Henry, Sarah, Rory, Sam and Savannah. We met through a personal ad that Julie placed in a local newspaper after watching Oprah’s tips on how to write a successful ad. We quickly became best friends and our wedding took place about a year and half after we met. We’ve been married now for 21 years and are still going strong. We love one another and our children and are very happy in our lives. As a family we are laid back and calm. We are not constantly busy so that the kids have time to just be kids and play. We love some routines such as Friday night movie nights and dinner together at the table but also love spontaneous road trips and festivals and trips to the beach.

Our kids:

Thomas (19)is a full-time sophomore in college. He was diagnosed with Autism at age 3 and has overcome so many challenges in life. He works at Goodwill during the summers and maintains a “B” average at school. He drives, has a girlfriend, and loves being away at school. His goal is to become a Social Worker and work in the field of adoption.

Henry is 16 years old and a junior in high school. He’s the project manager for one of the school clubs and is busy building an airplane. He enjoys anything aviation-related and hopes to one day attain his pilot’s license. He volunteers with cat rescue and loves spending time with his younger siblings. He is all set to go to Germany next year as an exchange student.

Sarah (15) came to join our family about 2 years ago. We keep in close contact with her mom and siblings. Sarah LOVES books (Harry Potter!), movies, dancing, running and is a straight A student. She also volunteers with feral cat rescue and loves just hanging out with the rest of the family. She is about to take her learner’s test and start driving!

Rory (13) came home from China at age 2. He was the cutest toddler with this crazy laugh and wild sense of humor. He still has his crazy laugh which makes us laugh! He is now 13 and in 8th grade. Rory has Global Developmental Delays and is educated in the regular classroom. His favorite subject is Science and he loves to talk about weather or moon phases. In his free time, he loves playing X-Box and Pokemon. His favorite foods are dumplings and noodles.

Sam (7) was born in South Carolina. Julie was the first person to hold him and was right there to coach his birth mom during labor. It was a beautiful experience that she will never forget! Sam is now in 1st grade and is so proud of himself and his reading abilities. He’s smart, funny, inquisitive and just a great guy. He loves cartoons and cars and swimming. His favorite food is hot dogs. He even dressed up as a hot dog last Halloween! We have a completely open adoption with Sam’s birth family.

Savannah (5) is another South Carolina baby. We found out that she was being born and went to the hospital immediately! Her birth mom chose a closed adoption at first but we have since formed a really great relationship with Savannah’s birth family. Savannah is very artistic and loves drawing and painting. She is in Kindergarten and is doing very well! She loves horses and wants to take horseback riding lessons this Fall. She also loves cats and stuffed animals.

Our Home

photo of adoptive family's home Our home is a large log cabin located on about 42 acres of land. We are about 10 minutes from town so it’s the best of both worlds. We have 5 bedrooms and a movie theater as well as a swimming pool out back. We love seeing the deer and wild turkeys roam our fields. It’s peaceful and yet we are not far from parks and schools. We are fortunate to live in culturally diverse community as well.

About Kirk

adoptive family photo - Kirk Kirk

Kirk is the oldest of four children. He has two sisters and a brother and is closest to his brother. His parents are busy enjoying retirement and travel all over the world. Kirk has an undergraduate degree in Journalism and a Masters in Teaching which a concentration in Special Education. He worked for several years in the Special Education classroom before accepting the job he has currently. As he says, “I’m back to teaching adults but I love working with kids and stay active as a elementary school volunteer.” He is a Senior Director of Training for a components company. In his free time, Kirk enjoys playing with the kids, fixing stuff, working on old cars and tractors, reading and travel. His latest hobby is fixing up old radios and record players.

About Julie

adoptive family photo - Julie Julie

Julie is an only child who grew up in the midwest and Florida. Her dad passed away about 12 years ago but her mom is alive and lives nearby. Julie majored in Human Resources and Criminology and later went back for Elementary Education as well. In her free time, Julie enjoys cooking, reading, being outside, helping rescue feral cats, rock music and cars. Her greatest love and joy is her children. As a stay at home mom, she is thankful to have tons of time to spend with the kids and enjoys even the smallest of moments. She is a laid back mom and tries to let the kids learn and discover things for themselves.

Thank You for Visiting Our Adoption Profile

We want to thank you for considering us as adoptive parents for your child.

We truly appreciate your kindness and strength and look forward to hearing from you.

Sincerely,

Kirk and Julie

or View More Families
Kirk and Julie