Jessica B

About Me

photo of adoptive family's story

My Story

About me:

I grew up in Northern California in a loving home with two wonderful parents who are still married and an incredible younger sister. California was a great place to grow up because, as kids, my sister and I had so many opportunities to play outdoors, to explore and be creative. My parents were excellent role models -- my mom was an educator and later worked at a children’s hospital and my dad was (and still is) a doctor -- and they exposed us to so much. We saw theater and concerts, we traveled around the country visiting national parks, we played instruments, we ate delicious home-cooked meals and we went out to all sorts of restaurants. Although we lived about 30 minutes from San Francisco, we went into the city often to experience all it had to offer. I loved riding cable cars, eating Chinese food, seeing all of the interesting museums, and just walking around. We also traveled to the East Coast to see my grandparents and cousins often, and I’ve been so lucky to have two grandmothers live well into their 90s.

I moved to New York about 12 years ago because my sister was living there, and I wanted to live close to her and her husband since she was pregnant with their first child. I was so excited to be an aunt for the first time! I also decided to attend graduate school there to further my teaching career. For the past 17 years, I have worked as a Middle School English teacher, and I absolutely adore my students. Teaching is a passion, and I’m so lucky to love what I do. I love watching my students’ development; they fill my life with so much joy. As a result of my years spent teaching, I’ve certainly developed a lot of patience!

Family and loved ones:

I’m so lucky to have an incredibly close and supportive family. They are thrilled that I’m adopting, and they are all eager to be grandparents, aunts, uncles, and cousins to this baby! They truly could not be more excited about my decision to adopt and become a mom because they know how much I’ve always wanted to be one.

My parents, who have been married for 46 years and who still live in the house in which I grew up, visit me in New York often, and I visit them in California several times a year. My mom is simply a wonderfully patient, loving and strong woman. She spent many years teaching elementary school students and then working in patient relations in a children’s hospital. My dad, still a practicing doctor, is a proud, dedicated, and devoted father and grandfather. Both of my parents love spending time with the family, and we often go on big family vacations together. We always spend time together during winter, spring, and summer vacations. Maybe our favorite time spent together is Thanksgiving, which we have been celebrating in Spain since my sister moved there. My parents and sister always cook an incredible meal, even though it’s not so easy to find turkeys in Spain!

I also feel so lucky to have the sister I do. She has been an incredible support and friend throughout my entire life. In my first 8 years in New York, my sister and her family and I lived 5 blocks apart, which was amazing. I developed a fantastic relationship with her two kids, my nephew and niece, and we would see each other several times a week. I loved taking them often on special one-on-one dates; my niece and I did things like ice skating and going to children’s theater performances, and my nephew and I went to different sporting events and to the Museum of Natural History to look at the dinosaurs, which he always loved. Their favorite thing to do was have sleepovers at my house where we would play games, watch movies, make ice cream sundaes and play with my cat. They moved to Spain two and a half years ago because my sister and her husband wanted the family to experience life abroad for a few years, but I still speak to them each week and visit them either in Spain or in New York at least four times a year. Because they grew up seeing me so often, we have a relationship that is unbreakable. Now that their kids are 9 and 11, they call and write to me all the time to tell me about their lives in Spain -- about their new friendships, about school, about their daily activities and I cherish that communication. I would do anything for the kids, and they know how much I love them.

I’ve also been fortunate to have grandparents who lived long enough to play an important role in my life. My mom’s family lives in Baltimore, and her mom is still alive. I love visiting her as much as possible and learning about her childhood and later life with my grandfather. My maternal grandparents met when they were just teenagers and had such a loving relationship. I loved spending time with them as well as my uncles, aunts, and cousins in Baltimore when I was growing up. My dad’s parents lived in New York and were married for about 50 years, and it was also always fun to visit them. My dad’s mom lived to an incredible 98 years old. Up until the past summer when she passed away, we spent a lot of time together seeing theater, shows, and just talking about her exciting life.

I have an incredible group of friends in New York and in California, and I love to see them as much as possible. I have known my oldest friend in the world for 37 years! I spend time with her and her family as much as possible. All of my friends know how much I love kids and how much I want to be a mother, and they’re so excited for me to become one. They are looking forward to being aunties and uncles to my little one.

I also have a really supportive boyfriend who is eager to see me fulfill my dream of motherhood. He is a really sweet, thoughtful and caring man. He and I began dating well into my journey to become a mom, and I told him about it on the fifth date so that he could decide whether he wanted to continue dating me, knowing that I would become a mother in the not-too-distant future. He was fully on board and we’ve been happy and planning for that day ever since.

My interests:

In my free time, I love spending time with my family and friends, seeing movies and theater, reading, hiking, and being outdoors as much as possible. I live near a river where there are tons of open spaces for walking, biking, and just enjoying the sun, and I go there often. I also like swimming and belong to a YMCA where I can do that regularly.

I also love music and grew up playing the piano and clarinet. A few years ago, I started taking guitar lessons. I’m not very good, but I love learning new songs and singing along. Sometimes I feel a little sorry for my neighbors, but they’ve been patient as I am learning!

Another passion of mine is learning languages and traveling. I have been learning Spanish for the past 8 years, and I love practicing it when I visit my sister and her family in Spain. My parents instilled in me a love of travel, of meeting new people and exploring not just our country but also the world at large.

My Home

photo of adoptive family's home I live in a lovely two-bedroom apartment in Manhattan that is on a quiet, tree-lined street. There are many nearby parks, playgrounds, local libraries, children’s museums, wonderful theaters, restaurants, and incredible schools. I have a sweet, friendly cat who loves relaxing on the couch, looking out the windows, and playing with her toys. She loves everyone and will certainly welcome a new baby into the house.

Thank You for Visiting Our Adoption Profile

We want to thank you for considering us as adoptive parents for your child.

We truly appreciate your kindness and strength and look forward to hearing from you.


Jessica B

or View More Families
Jessica B