Carrie & Douglas

Message Us

Last Activity: 1 day ago

About Us

photo of adoptive family's story

Our Story

We both were born and raised in Michigan with a parent that was a teacher. We both attended Northern Michigan University where we met during Band Camp; Carrie's first and Douglas' third. After Douglas graduated from NMU, he moved to the Detroit MI area to start a new job while Carrie continued in school. We both moved to Minnesota due to a job relocation before the beginning of Carrie's last year at NMU.

We are not what you would call party people, in fact we find enjoyment in the slower things in life. We enjoy spending time talking and visiting with our neighbors on someone's deck or patio. We also enjoy going to the movies or watching TV at home all snuggled up. Something we try to do every year is attend a Minnesota Vikings game in person. In addition to having fun at or near home, we love to travel, whether it is a road trip or flying to a new international destination. Douglas loves to spend his free time remodeling the house and Carrie enjoys birding and volunteering at the wildlife refuge.

We cherish spending time together while still giving each other our own personal space. Now that we live closer to work than in the past, we are able to spend more quality time with each other at home instead of in the car. We plan on continuing this closeness as we build our family to let our new child or children know they are surrounded by love and will always be protected. The best way we spend time together however is on our travels. Those can be the best of memories and experiences.

We currently have 2 adorable dogs named Aspen and Willow that we love tremendously. They are a big part of our family and can make even the worst of days bright. A new child, or children, being added to our family will have the joy of growing up with these beautiful puppies.

Our Home

photo of adoptive family's home Our neighbors like to call our home the 'Big House' since it is fairly large compared to the homes around us. We currently have 3 bedrooms but are in the process of expanding it to 4 bedrooms and a dedicated theater room for larger than life kids' shows and movies as well as other entertainment. We also have a large fenced in yard which is perfect for playing catch or performing cartwheels and handsprings. As you can see by the attached photo, we love to decorate it for Christmas and every year we add more decoration.
We live in a Minneapolis MN suburb which has one of the highest rated school districts and all possible health care within 2 miles. Definitely a wonderful place to raise a family.


adoptive family photo - Carrie Carrie's favorite thing to do is birding at a local National Wildlife Refuge as a volunteer. She has been doing this every summer since 1998. If there is a bird flying by, she will stop to get a good look to try to identify it. She can't get enough of it!

In addition to birding, Carrie loves to take road trips, and anywhere is fine. Of course Douglas does all the driving!

Carrie has also started to play more golf so that she and Douglas have more to do together.


adoptive family photo - Douglas Douglas loves to be moving all the time; you hardly ever see him sitting down for too long. His favorite things to do are remodeling our home or working on restoring his 1968 Camaro. Lately it has been entirely work on the home as he tries to add a new bedroom and theater room.

Douglas is a small business owner which allows him to utilize his leadership and mentoring skills; skills that will be invaluable in raising children.

Thank You for Visiting Our Adoption Profile

We want to thank you for considering us as adoptive parents for your child.

We truly appreciate your kindness and strength and look forward to hearing from you.


Carrie & Douglas

or View More Families
Carrie & Douglas