Shileshia & Erik

Contact Us

https://www.adoptimist.com/adoption-parent-profile/38613

Last Activity: 8 hours ago

About Us

photo of adoptive family's story

Our Story

Erik and I met at work when we were working for the same defense contractor back in 2014. We talked for a few weeks before officially deciding to date and have been together ever since. We got married January 2018. He has 3 adult children from a previous marriage but I don't have any. We love to travel together. We go hiking,travel, love to listen to music, work in the yard, and help out at our church. We both love music and Erik plays the piano. We both enjoy reading and helping others. We both have large extensive families that we spend a lot of time with as well. We love discovering new parks, trying new restaurants, and visiting new places. One of my favorite things is photography. I have a side business doing photography but I mostly do it as a hobby. I take my camera just about everywhere because you never know when the perfect shot will line up. I also have a blog where I share encouragement to others. We are excited to get this Journey started.

Our Home

photo of adoptive family's home Erik and I live in a 3 bedroom, 2 bathroom house. It is 2,318 sq ft and sits on 3/4 acre lot. We live in a nice,quiet neighborhood at the end of a culdesac. We love living here. The neighborhood is continuing to grow as they are adding on to the subdivision. There is a clubhouse, kiddie clubhouse, playground, pool, tennis and basketball courts. Plenty of our neighbors have small children and the HOA hosts a number of kid friendly activities throughout the year. There are also several parks nearby.

Shileshia Milligan

adoptive family photo - Shileshia Milligan I was born April 1, 1982 in Columbus, Georgia. I grew up with her mother and father. Both of myparents were in the U.S. Army. My father got out when I was a toddler and my mother stayed in for 20 years, retiring at Redstone Arsenal, AL. I moved to Germany when I was 3 years old and returned to the U.S. when I was 7 years old. I loved history and to read in school. I also loved to run track, cross country and dance team. Although my parents divorced when I was 11 years old, both of them love me very much and I have a loving relationship with both parents. I get along well with my stepmother and step siblings and continue to have close relationships with them. I attended Sunday and Wednesday church services with my mother. I was baptized when I was 12 years old.

I was not very outgoing as a child I had a few very close friends that I hung out with. I was very smart and when involved in group activities tended to take on a leadership role. I did very well in school. After attending the Alabama School of Math and Science in Mobile, AL, I went on to attend UAB for a couple of years. Eventually, I came back to Huntsville and attended Columbia College on Redstone Arsenal. After working at SCI for several years, I met Erik in 2014 .

I am currently working as a Configuration Management Analyst for a defense contractor. I previously worked for over a decade in several positions in Quality Assurance. I enjoy my work but intend to take time off should a child be placed in my home. I am very close to my family and my in laws. They spend time together all the time and treat me as their own. I enjoy reading, listening to music, hiking and traveling with my husband and our extended family. I enjoy teaching Bible Study class and attending church. I also maintain a blog and do photography.

Erik Milligan

adoptive family photo - Erik Milligan Erik was born October 25, 1969 in San Antonio, TX. He is one of two children of his parents, Gary and Sylvia Milligan. He and his parents moved to Alabama when he was still an infant due to his father’s separation from the Unites States Army after a tour in Vietnam and because most all the family lived in Alabama. Erik was raised in church and was baptized at the age of 8. Erik was a shy child in his early years but at the age of 8, he began taking piano lessons and started playing piano for his church. He and his sister would also sing which helped him to overcome much of his formerly shy disposition. Erik trained to be a lifeguard as a teenager and began working as such at age 16. He graduated from West Point High School as Salutatorian and went to the University of Alabama in Huntsville (UAH) on a partial scholarship. Erik participated in the Co-op program and worked as an engineer in training all through his college career.

Erik started dating his first wife the same year he went to college. They dated all through college and were married after graduating with a degree in Electrical Engineering from UAH where he received Cum Laude honors. Erik also became a minister during college and started serving as an associate pastor at a small church (no pay). The economy in 1993 made it hard to obtain an engineering job so Mr, Milligan had to take a job working in a warehouse which refurbished old telephone equipment in order to provide for his new wife. He worked this job for a few months until he found a job as an electronics technician. He worked the technician job for a year and was then able to acquire a job as an engineer.

Two years after getting married, a daughter was born and Erik became a father for the first time. Three years later his second daughter was born and another three years later his son was born. In spite of his first child being born 2.5 months early, Erik says God has been very good to him. His children all did well in school with the first two earning full scholarships to universities. His oldest daughter is pursuing a Ph.D. in Neuroscience, his second daughter is a 3rd grade teacher, and His son has already completed college certification as an EMT. He uses his EMT training and also fights fires as he volunteers at a local Volunteer Fire Department. He is currently attending college to pursue a degree in Criminal Justice while also working a night shift security job.

Erik has worked in several engineering roles and for the past few years has been working as a Program Manager. Erik is also an ordained minister. He is an associate pastor at his local church, he preaches the gospel when opportunity comes, and also teaches a small group class at the church and a bible study class at the Men’s Home which is managed by the church. He enjoys bible study, personal development books and activities, playing piano and singing, many outdoor activities, and also enjoys playing many different games.

Thank You for Visiting Our Adoption Profile

We want to thank you for considering us as adoptive parents for your child.

We truly appreciate your kindness and strength and look forward to hearing from you.

Sincerely,

Shileshia & Erik
833-721-1313 (toll-free)

or View More Families
Shileshia & Erik