| 844-530-0910

Sheri & Hugh

https://www.adoptimist.com/adoption-parent-profile/32307

About Us

photo of adoptive family's story

Our Story

About Us:
We have been in each other’s lives for over 30 years, although one of us doesn’t remember (Hugh). Sheri met Hugh’s sister, Tara in kindergarten and the two of them have been best friends ever since. Hugh, being the older brother, didn’t show much interest in his sister’s friend until later, fast forward 5 years ago and Hugh and Sheri went out for a group dinner and have been inseparable ever since. We grew up in Pleasanton, CA and live about 10 minutes away from there. Both of us are extremely close to our families and see them at least once a week.
We are both dog lovers and have two of our own, Lola (a 9 year old Morkie) and Thor (a Husky rescue who we think is about 4 years old). Although Thor outweighs Lola by 60 pounds, Lola is the boss! We enjoy taking them on walks or to the dog park; Thor loves it when Hugh rides his bike and Thor gets to run on the leash next to him.
When we’re not with our dogs, we’ll go to San Francisco Giants baseball games or to concerts. Sheri loves to cook and entertain so many weekend nights are spent at home with family and friends over.

Our Home

Our Home and Community:
We own a single story 2 bedroom, 2 bath home, with a nice size backyard, in the suburbs of the Bay Area. It is a family friendly neighborhood with nice neighbors. There are great schools and large parks within walking distance. We have family and friends who have children close by. It is a perfect place to raise a family.

About Sheri

adoptive family photo - Sheri About Sheri:
I was born in Redwood City, and lived in San Francisco until I was 3, at that point my parents decided to buy their first home and we moved to Pleasanton. I have an older brother and a younger brother, and two amazing parents. I grew up in a loving and loud Italian Family.
I have always lived close to my parents and brothers, even attending college in Hayward, so I could still be at home. I have always loved to travel. When I was 17, I went to Sicily, Italy on an exchange program by myself, not knowing the people I would be staying with nor the language-it was one of the best experiences of my life. Since that time, I have been back to Sicily twice, and to London, Paris, Hawaii, Mexico; traveling is so much fun and a great way to learn about yourself. I have been working in the field of education for 16 years and I love it, watching young people achieve their college dreams gives me such an awesome feeling. In my spare time I love taking Pilates classes, spending time with my girlfriends, and playing with my niece and nephew.
I have wanted to be a mom since I was a child and although I traveled, got my education, and have a great career, that piece has been missing. I didn’t think I would encounter the problems I did when my husband and I tried to have children of our own. After a long journey and realizing that God has a different plan for us, we decided to welcome our child through adoption, and I know it’s going to be the best decision we ever made. To me the greatest gift will be being a mom, I’ll be eternally grateful to hear someone refer to me as their mom.

About Hugh

adoptive family photo - Hugh About Hugh:
I was born in Huntington Beach, CA but I primarily grew up in Pleasanton. I have an older sister (who is adopted), and a younger sister, Tara (the one responsible for Sheri). I had a very happy home life with two great parents. I liked to ride my bike with the neighborhood kids, play sports and when I got into high school, I played guitar in a band. I became a commercial Painter when I was 19 and it has been my career ever since. When I’m not working I love to take my dad’s old boat out on the lake and fish, build RC model airplanes and fly them or tinker around the garage fixing something. I am a very easy going person, it doesn’t take much to make me happy. I never really thought about having children seriously until Sheri and I started dating, she made it very clear that when we were deciding to get married, she wanted to start a family right away. I began seeing myself as a dad and thinking about the kind of things I would do with my child, and I was ready to start trying for that family. As Sheri said, we haven’t been successful on our own, and I know from firsthand experience, how great adoption can be with my sister; to me she is as much my sister as my younger sister is, family is family.

Thank You for Visiting Our Adoption Profile

We want to thank you for considering us as adoptive parents for your child.

We truly appreciate your kindness and strength and look forward to hearing from you.

Sincerely,

Sheri & Hugh

844-530-0910 (toll-free)

or View More Families
Sheri & Hugh