| 844-385-7468

Wes & Heather

https://www.adoptimist.com/adoption-parent-profile/30919

About Us

photo of adoptive family's story

Our Story

We met in Amarillo, Texas in 2008 at a country concert. Heather was on leave from her time in the military and Wes worked in her hometown in Texas. We went on a first date for putt-putt the next day and decided to spend the remaining few weeks together.
Heather moved off to Ohio and Wes moved to the Austin area shortly after. We visited each other at least once a month for the following 18 months. Eventually, we both relocated to Oklahoma. After several years together, we got engaged in February 2013 and married the following February.
During our time together, we have lost a home in a tornado, moved to a new town, changed jobs, experienced infertility, and Wes has completed his Master's degree. It's been a busy few years but we have been blessed so much and have been drawn closer together through all the ups and downs.
Together, we love spending time on the water. Wes grew up on the lake, so we enjoy just getting out, relaxing, fishing, and occasionally participating in water sports. We like taking weekend jogs or hikes around the area. We both enjoy rock climbing too. In the summer months, we frequently have friends and their kiddos over for cook-outs and time spent around the pool. We love attending sporting events together when we can, especially Royals baseball games, OU football games, and Thunder basketball games. We really enjoy traveling too. Combined we have been to almost 20 countries and numerous states. We hope we can share that passion with our child and teach them to appreciate other cultures, traditions, and experiences.

We both grew up in Christian homes and our faith is important to us. We attend a local Baptist Church not far from our home. We hope to instill Christian values in our child, such as kindness, love, humility, and faith. Our faith has helped us get through trying times and we want our children to have that resource as well for one day when they face challenges.

Our Home

photo of adoptive family's home We live in a nice, quiet, well-established neighborhood in a medium sized city. We own a 3 bedroom, 2.5 bath, 3100 square foot home with a large yard and swimming pool. One of our bedrooms has already been outfitted to be a nursery for the baby we long for. Our neighborhood and community has so many great features. We have a large green space just across the street where we regularly walk our dog. Another park with playground, baseball fields, tennis courts, a golf course, and running trails is less than a mile away. There is a large hospital located just around the corner, again less than a mile away. Shopping, museums, and many other activities are less than 10 minutes away. As you can guess, we are very centrally located to just about everything. Our community has a number of sports teams and our state offers lots of college sports and even an NBA team.

About Wes

adoptive family photo - Wes I was born and raised in Spearfish, South Dakota. I still love going to visit my family there and in Montana and hunt with my dad and friends. That's a favorite Thanksgiving tradition. I served for a while in the National Guard and responded immediately after Hurricane Katrina. I received my mechanical engineering degree from South Dakota School of Mines and now work as a pump engineering manager. In December of 2018, I will have my MBA degree.
I'm pretty outgoing, very energetic, and pretty much always have jokes. I enjoy laughter and making people laugh. I'd say I'm driven and my Grandpa taught me a lot about hard work growing up that I apply in my life today. My wife says I'm smart and that I have a knack for finding great opportunities, whether a deal on a new vehicle or house or a great job opportunity. I'm very athletic having grown up playing a lot of sports and running around in the Black Hills of South Dakota. I still enjoy the outdoors and things that keep me active. I look forward to the day we have a kiddo hanging around to take on adventures with us!
Some of my favorite things are playing golf, riding motorcycles (dirtbikes, offroad), lifting weights in the gym, and watching movies. I also love to ski when we can manage to get away to the mountains.
I'm partial to eating cheeseburgers and I enjoy all sports. Some of my favorite people are my little nephews and really can't wait for them to have a cousin to play with!

About Heather

adoptive family photo - Heather I was born in Kansas and raised in Texas. After the military, I attended the University of Oklahoma and went into social work, working with the homeless and eventually incarcerated women in the state. I loved that work, but ultimately moved in to fitness so I could both help people, but also plan to have a flexible schedule so eventually I'll be able to stay at home with a baby. I'm outgoing and pretty low key, easy going. I don't get too rattled by much of anything. I genuinely love people hence why I've spent so many years in helping fields. I try to stay physically fit and active. I love to laugh and try not to take life too seriously. I'm a pretty disciplined person in my personal life and Wes will tell you, I'm never late, never sick, and never call in. It's a joke in our house! My heart is definitely longing for motherhood and I plan to be a stay at home with our baby one day.
Some of my favorites are coffee, fishing, horse back riding, cooking, and working out. Recently, I’ve picked up crochet and really enjoy gardening in the summer. We have vegetables and plants of all kinds. My favorite foods are fajitas and homemade cinnamon rolls. I can just imagine spending Christmas with our baby baking cookies and those delicious cinnamon rolls for breakfast Christmas morning!

Thank You for Visiting Our Adoption Profile

We want to thank you for considering us as adoptive parents for your child.

We truly appreciate your kindness and strength and look forward to hearing from you.

Sincerely,

Wes & Heather

844-385-7468 (toll-free)

or View More Families
Wes & Heather