Beth from Ohio

Message Me

https://www.adoptimist.com/adoption-parent-profile/44864

Last Activity: 4 hours ago

About Me

photo of adoptive family's story

My Story

I have always wanted to be a mom. I spent the first part of my twenties finishing up graduate school, and then I immediately started working. I had a typical entry level position: lots of hours, not a lot of respect. I learned so much at my first job, but I also didn't have time for much else besides work.

I dated a little bit in college and then off and on in my 20's and early 30's. Nothing ever turned serious or felt right. In 2016, I went on a terrible date with a guy I matched with through online dating. I think it was his pointy snakeskin shoes that were the nail in the coffin for me. After that date, I went home, and thought very seriously about how I wanted my life to go.

At that point, I had just purchased my first home. I realized that while I could live without a marriage/relationship, I could not bear the thought of never being a parent. It wasn't necessarily the relationship that I wanted, it was the family that would hopefully come with it. Within a week, I started the adoption process, completed my home study 3 months later, and brought my daughter home 11 months after that.

Parenting is hard, like the hardest thing I've ever done. But when I have a minute to sit back and reflect, I cannot imagine doing anything else with my life. My daughter means everything to me and my goal every day is to be the best mom I can be for her.

Watching her grow and learn and evolve into a unique little person has been the greatest privilege of my life.


I want to make sure I give my daughter stability and surround her with people who love her just as much as I do, and I think so far I'm succeeding with that.

My Home

photo of adoptive family's home We live in the Cleveland/Akron area in a cozy little house. Our neighborhood isn't fancy, but we have nice neighbors and live on a cul-de-sac, so there's not a lot of traffic and it's quiet. I have a fenced in backyard, a big deck, and we just hung up a really cool swing from one of our trees...and we have sooo many trees!

We are working on decorating my daughter's new "big girl" room, which used to be my guest bedroom. I just updated her old nursery and it's ready to go for a new baby!

People make a home a home more than the actual structure does. There's just two of us that live in our house, but our family and friends are our home too. Making memories with them is one of my greatest priorities as a mom because I never want my daughter to question how many people love her. I think she feels safe and "home" with our whole family.

Beth

adoptive family photo - Beth I obviously don't have a partner, but I think one of the things that makes me a good friend, co-worker, and sister is that I genuinely care enough to invest time into other people to help them be the best they can be. I want the people I am around to feel appreciated and important.

I think the same can be applied to me as a parent. I do the best I can to make sure my daughter knows she is worthy of my time, my love, and my respect for her as a person.

I feel like my daughter and I share a unique relationship since I'm her only parent. Sometimes not navigating a relationship/marriage while raising kids is a good thing as there's no adult-adult conflict in our home. She and I do bicker like old ladies sometimes, but overall I feel like our home is pretty harmonious.

Ultimately, though, the best part of my childhood was being raised with my two younger sisters. We were close as kids and remain close now. We've started raising our kids together and it's the coolest thing ever to watch them interact and form little relationships with each other. My daughter and I both have so much love to give to a new little family member, and I know he or she would be cherished.

Thank You for Visiting Our Adoption Profile

We want to thank you for considering us as adoptive parents for your child.

We truly appreciate your kindness and strength and look forward to hearing from you.

Sincerely,

Beth from Ohio

or View More Families
Beth from Ohio