Megan

Message Me

https://www.adoptimist.com/adoption-parent-profile/42673

Last Activity: 12 days ago

About Me

photo of adoptive family's story

My Story

I grew up in a small town in Central Illinois that was so small we only had 1 stoplight! One of my favorite childhood memories was going to Friday night football games and attending the after parties. In my opinion, there is nothing better than cooking hot dogs over a bonfire.

After high school I graduated from the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign where I earned my psychology degree. I was not used to living in a ‘big’ town and couldn’t believe one of my classes had more students than my entire high school. I was a die-hard Illini men’s basketball fan and attended every game. After I earned my psychology degree, I went to graduate school and earned a master’s degree in sport management and a master’s degree in accounting. If being a professional student was a way to make a living, I would be the first to sign up! I chose a career in accounting and am manager at Aon. A huge perk is that I work from home full time.

Over the years I have lived in many great cities: St. Louis, Salt Lake City, Dallas, and most recently Chicago. Chicago is my favorite and will always hold a special place in my heart. There were endless things to do: concerts, sporting events, city tours, the Lincoln Park Zoo, and some of the best restaurants I have ever been to.

When I am not working, I enjoy spending time with my family, cheering on the Illini, going to movies, reading, and trying the newest restaurants in my area. I love finding new ways to be eco-friendly and am researching how to create a compost in my backyard.

As a mother, I cannot wait to give a child a wide range of experiences such as growing a garden, reading books at the library, playing in youth sport leagues, taking art or music classes, going to Illini basketball games, and traveling (Disney World here we come!).

Children have always been an integral part of my life. I am one of the oldest of 23 grandchildren and as a kid I used my cousins as my real-life baby dolls. My first job was as a babysitter and in high school I coached youth basketball. My most important role to date is being an aunt to my 3 nieces and 2 nephews.

My family is very excited to add a new member to our crew. One of my nieces prays for the baby every night because she cannot wait to be a big cousin! He or she will grow up near their grandparents and cousins; something I did as well. I loved cousin sleepovers and family parties!!

Thank you for taking the time to learn about meet. I look forward to learning more about you and your journey.

My Home

A year ago I relocated from Chicago to a city outside of St. Louis. My plan has always been to live near my family once I started the adoption process.

I chose a smaller city because I felt a great sense of community growing up; something I want for my child. My subdivision is family focused and my street is predominately families with young children. There are monthly events held in our subdivision that range from an outdoor Halloween party to a summer festival with a bounce house. The best part about where I live is that my parents are only 90 minutes away and my sister and her family are less than five!

Thank You for Visiting Our Adoption Profile

We want to thank you for considering us as adoptive parents for your child.

We truly appreciate your kindness and strength and look forward to hearing from you.

Sincerely,

Megan

Visit Our Website or View More Families
Megan