Miriam & Ewerton

Message Us

https://www.adoptimist.com/adoption-parent-profile/42241

Last Activity: 3 days ago

About Us

photo of adoptive family's story

Our Story

After seeing so many of our friends find love online, each of us joined an online dating website in 2012. Luckily, we joined the same site and found each other! Ewerton made the first move and soon we fell madly in love! We became best friends through really long road trips up and down the U.S. west coast, jumping in the freezing Pacific Ocean, live music shows, and visiting friends and family in Rio de Janeiro and São Paulo, Brazil.

Our match...
Miriam was drawn to Ewerton’s great sense of humor, generous spirit, and outgoing personality. Ewerton was drawn to Miriam’s enthusiasm, sense of fairness, and care for others. We complement each other so well. Ewerton is spontaneous and adventurous and Miriam brings the fun to another level by always putting a good plan together. She adds creativity to our lives, and he puts his practical skills to get things done. We are both curious about all kinds of things and love learning and exploring together.

We were so excited to get married, that we did it twice, first in the US and a week later in Brazil! Both were big, beautiful parties full of love and joy. Pulling off two large weddings in two countries was no small thing!

Our Home

When we first saw our house we knew it would be quite a project: a real fixer-upper! But when we stood on the front porch and looked at the cul-de-sac, and saw a few children riding their bikes and playing together, we decided right there this would be our house.

Now, five years later, it has been transformed, with much of the work done by us! It became a charming mid-century building with modern touches, three bedrooms and three bathrooms, two beautifully decorated living rooms (thanks to Miriam) and a large backyard with lush green lawn, surrounded by tall fir trees in the back making it a cozy little piece of the Northwest forest just steps away.

We live in one of the most racially and ethnically diverse regions of our state on the West Coast. We can walk to our neighborhood’s highly-rated schools and we love that our local YMCA community center is just minutes away. It has a great pool where Miriam swims, rock climbing wall, sports courts, and a kids play center. A few other community centers are nearby, including another kids’ pool, summer programs and camps, and a library. We can also walk 5 minutes to our neighborhood park. It has a great kids playground structure, tennis courses, large fields, and running tracks. Driving just a few more minutes takes us to an amazing state park along the water, with a long beach, fire pits, and play areas. We love that we live so close to the beach!

Miriam

adoptive family photo - Miriam I am a former preschool and Kindergarten teacher turned college instructor to teachers of infants, toddlers, and preschoolers. I love teaching at all levels and in all ways, but right now I am fortunate to be able to teach online and work from home most of the time. I love how flexible this allows me to be!

There are a couple of things I cannot live without: delicious coffee and getting into the water! At least once a week I drive to my favorite coffee shop to get a perfect dirty chai latte. And since I can’t swim in the ocean here very often (which would be my first choice!) and the YMCA is so close, I love going into their pool and hot tub as often as I can. I also love walking in our neighborhood or along the beach and stretching to exercise.

I’m naturally curious and love learning new things. For example, when we travel, I love reading books about the location and exploring hidden local gems during the trip. I spend my free time gardening, reading, catching up on Netflix shows, and playing the keyboard.

Ewerton

adoptive family photo - Ewerton I am from Brazil and have been living in the US for almost 13 years, where I came to work as a software engineer.

Besides Portuguese and English, I also speak Spanish (he aprendido con um amigo Chileno) and a little bit of Italian.

I really enjoy trying new things! A few years ago I was a guitar player in a band with four other friends. I’ve spent a lot of time mountaineering and rock climbing, and became an instructor in a non-profit organization (we climbed mountains like Mount Baker, Mount Hood, and even Mount Rainier). At home I use my free time playing with electronics (robotics, computers, 3D printing), wood-working (I’ve made drawers and doors from scratch for our kitchen cabinets), and learning a new language.

I also love cooking. Having freshly made dishes is something I grew up with and I value it a lot. Almost every day I make something new for lunch and dinner, with the help of my wife. On a

Thank You for Visiting Our Adoption Profile

We want to thank you for considering us as adoptive parents for your child.

We truly appreciate your kindness and strength and look forward to hearing from you.

Sincerely,

Miriam & Ewerton

Visit Our Website or View More Families
Miriam & Ewerton