Susan in NY

Message Me

https://www.adoptimist.com/adoption-parent-profile/41583

Last Activity: 17 days ago

About Me

photo of adoptive family's story

My Story

I am a single woman living in New York City.

My friends and family describe me as a strong, intelligent, fun-loving, caring and trustworthy person. I grew up in a large, close knit family, full of lots of aunts, uncles and cousins. Growing up, Sundays stood for huge family dinners at my grandparents house. Most of my family is still local, my parents still live in my childhood home.

I have 2 younger brothers and sister-in laws. I'm also lucky enough to have 5 nieces and nephews who I love to spend lots of time with. When I'm with the kids, we love doing things like coloring, puzzles, arts and craft and board games. We also have fun cooking together. I love to cook and the kids love to help - and getting to eat their work product :) My go to dessert to make for a party is brownies, but when with the kids, I love making cupcakes or cookies so they can put their induvial stamp on them when decorating.

I enjoy being active and getting outside in my free time. When the weather is nice, I spend time paddle boarding and kayaking, usually on Long Island. I also like to go camping a few times per year - which is also a favorite of my youngest brother and his family. Because of that, we typically do an annual family camping trip.

I also love to travel - that I something I would love to be able to eventually share with a child. While I don't think there has been any place that I didn't enjoy - Italy is somewhere I could never get sick of.

My Home

photo of adoptive family's home I live in Queens, which is part of New York City.

My neighborhood has a bit of suburban feel while still being part of NYC. It's a great family oriented neighborhood. Besides low crime and top rated schools, my neighborhood has many playgrounds, parks, libraries and learning centers. Within a short drive are many other activities for kids including children's museums, beaches, zoos, hiking trails and play centers.

When my nieces and nephews visit we love to go to the splash park down the street or to the zoo.

I grew up in a small beach town in the suburbs. It's a short drive from Queens, so I still spend a lot of time there visiting my parents. While there, I love spending time at the beach when the weather is cooperating. I also love meeting up with two of my best friends who still live there (we go all the way back to preschool). They each have a 3 year old son, so we like to spend time together doing things like going to the beach, local children museum or short nature walks.

Thank You for Visiting Our Adoption Profile

We want to thank you for considering us as adoptive parents for your child.

We truly appreciate your kindness and strength and look forward to hearing from you.

Sincerely,

Susan in NY

or View More Families
Susan in NY