Angel & Mari

Message Us

Last Activity: 16 days ago

About Us

photo of adoptive family's story

Our Story

Hi! We met when we were 17 and 19-years-old. We were college sweethearts. We like to say that we’ve grown up together. From deciding what college courses we should register for to learning about 401Ks, buying a house, and being heartbroken by the inability to conceive, we’ve been by each other’s side, growing more and more in love every day.

We are both first-generation Americans with Angel’s family being from Colombia and Mari’s family being from Cuba. We were both blessed with amazing, loving parents. We grew up in bilingual homes and are fluent in both English and Spanish. We have the best of both worlds and embrace our Latino culture, customs and traditions. That being said, we are as American as apple pie and Sunday night football. We hope to be able to pass this bi-cultural lifestyle onto a child of any ethnic background.

- We’ve been married since 2006
- We are both employed by the federal government
- Angel has one older brother, one younger brother and one younger sister
- Mari has one older brother
- We have 5 nieces/nephews and countless little cousins
- Among our siblings and brothers and sisters in-law are: a writer, a doctor, three teachers, a chef, a bank manager, and an assistant retail store manager
- Mari’s parents have been married for 47 years
- Angel’s parents have been married for 50 years

Our Home

photo of adoptive family's home We have owned our 2-story home in the suburbs of NYC since 2012. Our home has four- bedrooms, two-bathrooms, and a big backyard where we have hosted numerous barbeques for our family and friends. We enjoy the comfort and quietness of the suburbs while still being close enough to NYC to enjoy everything it has to offer, such as museums, broadway shows and concerts.

We live around the corner from an elementary school and playground which we can see from our dining room window. We’re also within walking distance to a 400 acre state park which has a lake for kayaking, pedal boats and rowboats. Additionally, there are basketball courts, baseball fields, numerous picnic areas, walking trails and horseback riding. The park has annual celebrations such as the jack-o-lantern sail, holiday tree lighting with Santa, and egg hunt.
Our local fire department has a great annual Christmas tradition where they drive Santa on a fire truck with sirens blaring, up and down every street. All the neighbors, young and old, go outside to catch a glimpse and wave at Santa. They do it every year and it never gets old.

Our neighborhood is very multicultural. Our neighbors are Caucasian, African-American, Latino, Asian and West Indian families, and there are many children!

About Mari, by Angel

adoptive family photo - About Mari, by Angel Let me start by saying that Mari is going to be a great mom. She is patient, fun-loving, and very responsible. Mari always wanted to be a mom and we both believe that God has a plan to make that happen. She is a great aunt and godmother and serves as a good role model to all the kids in our family.

Mari was born in Havana, Cuba, but when she was just two-years-old, her parents moved the family to the United States for a better life and opportunities. She was raised in NYC in a household that included her parents and older brother. Mari’s family is Catholic and she attended mostly private Catholic schools. In college, she earned her bachelor’s degree in legal studies and eventually, a law degree. She has been employed by the Department of Homeland Security for the past 12 years.

Mari is the most courageous and caring person. She is a fighter and never backs down from all the obstacles she has had to endure. She is smart and thoughtful and has a such a great heart. She enjoys reading and is very family oriented. Not one day goes by where she does not speak with her mom.

Fun Facts About Mari:
Favorite Food- Ropa Vieja (Cuban dish)
Favorite Movie- Titanic
Favorite Place- Martha’s Vineyard
Can’t Live Without- Books
Interests- Interior Decorating, Reading, Hot Yoga
Random Fact- Mari can’t sing but that doesn’t stop her from trying. However, she can dance!

About Angel, by Mari

adoptive family photo - About Angel, by Mari Angel was born and raised in a NYC suburb. He is the second of four children born to loving and caring parents from Colombia. At an early age, Angel developed a love of sports. He played baseball up through high school, and is a football and basketball fan.

Family means a great deal to Angel. His parents reside about 20 minutes from our home. Two of his siblings, their spouses and one niece and two nephews live within ten minutes of us. His older brother and his wife live about 40 minutes away from us. At one point they were our landlords and we were lucky enough to have their two children be a part of our daily lives for almost 6 years. In addition to his parents and siblings, Angel lived with his grandmother throughout his childhood. Our hearts broke when we lost her in 2019 at the age of 100.

Three words I’d use to describe Angel are- responsible, thoughtful and fun. He is easy-going and quite fun, often breaking out in song and dance at any moment. He will do anything to get me or our niece and nephews to smile and laugh. He is also very financially savvy. He earned a bachelor’s degree in accounting and is currently employed by the Department of the Treasury.
Angel is my rock! He truly has a heart of gold. Given his fun-loving, nurturing nature, I have no doubt that he will be an amazing father.

Fun Facts About Angel:
Favorite Food-Arroz con Pollo
Favorite Movie- Coming to America
Favorite Place- NYC
Random Fact- Randomly rhymes words and says he is practicing for when he will create one-of- a-kind lullabies

Thank You for Visiting Our Adoption Profile

We want to thank you for considering us as adoptive parents for your child.

We truly appreciate your kindness and strength and look forward to hearing from you.


Angel & Mari

646-535-8811 (toll-free)

Visit Our Website or View More Families
Angel & Mari