Roja & Surya

Message Us

https://www.adoptimist.com/adoption-parent-profile/39280

Last Activity: 19 days ago

About Us

photo of adoptive family's story

Our Story

We met online and began dating. We dated for 1 year, got engaged for 12 months and then married on 08/03/12 in Hyderabad, India. We are very happy to be together. We support each other's ideas and opinions, and respect, trust and love each other. We also have fun and enjoy a healthy and active lifestyle together. We like to be involved in activities such as hiking, watching movies and entertaining and spending time with their family and friends.

We are extraordinaly ordinary couple with difference of opinions. Most conflicts are resolved with a discussion about each other’s views on the situation and a compromise when needed. Big decisions are made together and little ones are made individually keeping each other’s perspective in mind.

We have a solid foundation for marriage and parenthood. We are aware of each other’s positive and negative traits, strengths and weaknesses. We divided up their responsibilities, defined their roles accordingly, are flexible and have a good sense of humor. We could not wait for an opportunity to add & nurture another child to our family.

Our Home

photo of adoptive family's home Surya and Roja own a nicely decorated 1-story, 1,200 square foot house, constructed of wood and located in the well-established, family oriented town of San Jose, California. It has 3 bedrooms and 2 bathrooms, a living room, dining room and kitchen. It has a 2-car garage. They have no pool or spa. They do not own firearms. They keep their home clean and neat. There is plenty of room for their children’s clothes, books and toys. Their home is safe and secure and more than adequate for rearing children.

Roja Ramani Chandanala

adoptive family photo - Roja Ramani Chandanala I am the 4th child to my mom and dad. I grew up with 2 sisters and 2 brothers in a small town in India. All of our siblings went to the same school. We are all in good health and good at studies.

My dad lost his mom when he was 4 years old and his step mom was not very supportive of him. Because of that, he had to work really hard when they were young. By the time I was 5, my dad was more financially stable. He owned a store and we used to go help him as needed after school hours.

After 10th grade, I went to college in Hyderabad. I lived with friends in a hostel. My sisters were in different hostels close to their work and colleges. I got my undergraduate degree in Computer Science from NITW. My parents and siblings used to visit me every 1-2 weeks.

After my graduation, I worked with AMDOCS in Pune for 2 years while preparing for GRE & TOEFL. I stayed with my brother’s family when they moved to Pune for almost 1 year during this time. I came to the USA to pursue masters from TAMU, College Station. I graduated from TAMU in 2010 with a masters degree in Computer Science. After which I got recruited into Amazon in Seattle. I was with them for 3 years. I met Surya online. We dated for 1 year before getting married in 2012. We moved to California.

I got pregnant with Srihan in 2014. We bought out first house in 2014. I moved to Google to be closer to my home in same year. Because of Preeclampsia, Srihan had to be delivered at 30 weeks gestational. He was in NICU for about 2 months. There were no major complications but he was diagnosed with autism at 1.5 years old. We always felt that his behaviors are very minor since he has always been a happy and welcoming kid. However, we just got started with the early intervention to give him extra support. He is 6 years old now and goes to a regular private school full-time and is one of the best students in the class. I am excited about the prospects of adopting a child and expanding their family!

Surya Prakash Cheruku

adoptive family photo - Surya Prakash Cheruku I am the first child to my parents and I have a younger sister. My mother died when I was 5 years old. My father died when I was 7 years old. We were raised by my maternal grandparents. My maternal uncle and aunt supported my grandparents to raise us. Both of us went to the same school. We received good care and love from our grandparents.

I completed his +10 in 1996, and finished the +12 in 1998 from a college in Guntur. Following that, I joined B.Tech for the undergrad in the JNTU Hyderabad. I received a scholarship for being an exceptional student.

After completing graduation, I worked in India for a couple of years and came to the US in 2006 to pursue a Masters with my uncle and sister's help. I completed my Masters from Texas A&M University in 2008. After which I worked for multiple companies as a consultant in different cities like LA, Chicago, and Phoenix. I met Roja online and dated for around 1 year. For the past 2 years I am working with Apple as a full time employee.

We got married in 2012. We moved to California and bought our first house in 2014. I became father with Srihan in October 2014. He was born at 30 weeks and was in NICU for 8 weeks. Though he was healthy, he had developmental delays. At the age of 1.5 years he was diagnosed with autism. With the early intervention and other therapies he improved a lot and he rarely shows minor behaviors. He is good with his academics and goes to full time regular school. I am excited about the prospects of adopting.

Thank You for Visiting Our Adoption Profile

We want to thank you for considering us as adoptive parents for your child.

We truly appreciate your kindness and strength and look forward to hearing from you.

Sincerely,

Roja & Surya

or View More Families
Roja & Surya