Ari & Anna

Message Us

https://www.adoptimist.com/adoption-parent-profile/38935

Last Activity: 23 days ago
Ari & Anna

People think it’s a pain when your child takes apart your toaster. We would be right there with them, getting the tools.

Hi! We’re Anna and Ari.

We met leading students on camping trips, and are excited to raise our child with plenty of outdoors fun!

We are both teachers—Anna teaches math and physics, and Ari teaches English and creative writing. We’ve both lived and taught internationally, in Cyprus, Mexico, India, and elsewhere.

Anna is bicultural and bilingual—her family moved to the US when she was 11, she became a US citizen in college, and she understands what it’s like to learn to fit in to a new place. We talk all the time about cultural difference, and how to navigate the misunderstandings that sometimes come up between us.

We both love to read books, and to do creative projects—Anna likes to make woodcut prints, and Ari is writing her third book. We also like to take things apart and repair them, and to do carpentry projects.

We want to raise a kid who loves to learn, is curious and thinks deeply about things, and cares about justice.

Our child will grow up knowing how to build and fix things, and how to take care of themselves in the outdoors. They’ll grow up doing lots of fun art projects and being silly and creative. As teachers and as loving aunts to our nieces, we see the magic of adventures through children’s eyes, and want to bring that magic into our family.

We would like to work together with you to create an adoption plan that reflects the level of openness that you are comfortable with. We want our child to grow up knowing they are loved by both their birth and adoptive parents.

Please reach out at any time if you'd like to get to know us more!

Latest Photos

Who We Are

HOW WE MET ::
When Anna moved back to the US from Cyprus, we were both teaching at an international school in New Mexico. Ari ran the wilderness program, and we went on a camping trip together to scout a new area. Our friend Luis predicted we'd fall in love...and he was right!

We got married a year later, up in the ponderosa pine forest behind the school.

Now, we still love to go camping together, and we teach at a school in Washington state.

MORE ABOUT US ::
We both love the outdoors: hiking, camping, mountain biking…we especially love cross-country skiing, getting out to play in the snow and sunshine…and we love to go backpacking and camping. Both of us have worked as outdoor educators on long backpacking trips, and we can’t wait to take our child hiking and teach them some of the same skills: how to read a map and navigate in the woods, how to put up a bear hang, how to cook cinnamon buns on a campstove.

Ari is also trained as an EMT, and we have female friends who are firefighters, justice activists, ER nurses, and mountaineers, and we will raise our child to respect strong women, or to be a strong and independent woman.

We also love to travel internationally—some of our favorites places to travel have been Greece, Egypt, Thailand, India, Argentina, and Mexico. Anna lived in Cyprus for seven years as a teacher, and Ari spent several years living in China, Central America, and south Asia during college. Anna is bilingual in Russian and English, and Ari also speaks some Spanish and Chinese. We would love to introduce our child to the wonders of travel.

Because of that, we also have a pretty diverse community of friends, including close friends from South Africa, the UK, Belarus, Brazil, Jamaica, China, and elsewhere, and we’re excited to raise our child amidst a diverse, multi-lingual and multi-cultural community.

We own a house in the Colorado mountains, which we gutted and renovated ourselves—Ari worked as a carpenter in her 20s, and Anna is good at improvising and problem-solving, so together we’re a good team! We can’t wait to teach our child some of those skills too, and take them to see the wildflowers in the mountains. As teachers, we have summers off to travel as a family and go on lots of fun adventures.

When we’re not adventuring away from home, we have a waffle-breakfast tradition on Saturdays, and like to do lots of art projects and visit friends and family.

FAMILY ::
Ari’s brother lives nearby, and has two little girls, ages 3 and 5, who are eagerly awaiting a cousin to play with…and her parents, who also live nearby, are over the moon at the thought of more grandkids, and can’t wait to spend time with our child. Her mom was a kindergarten teacher, and loves to read and do art projects with young children. Her dad was a doctor, and is always “on call” for answering medical questions when they arise.

Ari also has a lot of cousins (like 10 of them), who almost all have kids, and we get together whenever we can for a big, chaotic, hilarious family reunion where everyone laughs a lot and there’s tons of food.

Anna’s mom lives on the coast of France, and when we go to visit her, we spend lots of time at the beach! We don’t see her as often, because it’s a long trip, but she and Anna talk every week and text on WhatsApp.

Adoption Diary

Just closed on our new house! Woohoo!

We just got the keys yesterday, and are already carrying the heavy boxes. So excited to make this place feel like home…it’s such a sweet house, and we can’t wait to grow our family and raise our child in it.

Thank You for Visiting Our Adoption Profile

We want to thank you for considering us as adoptive parents for your child.

We truly appreciate your kindness and strength and look forward to hearing from you.

Sincerely,

Ari & Anna

or View More Families
Ari & Anna