Michelle Lisa

Contact Me

https://www.adoptimist.com/adoption-parent-profile/37551

Last Activity: 1 day ago
Michelle Lisa

Professional (future) mom seeks child to nurture and adore.

Hello there, and thanks for taking the time to get to know me. I'm 40 years old, and grew up in a small town on Long Island, in New York. I live in the city of Oakland now (right next to San Francisco), and like to think I'm both worldly but tempered by a my small-town roots.

So, what kind of parent will I be? That's not a simple answer, but I'll try. I love cooking and gardening, and look forward to having someone to teach about where food comes from, and how to improvise in the kitchen. We'll be active; hikes among the redwoods, family yoga classes, camping, and beach holidays. We'll explore all of the playgrounds in the Bay Area and find the very best ones.

We'll visit our cousins in their historic old mansion outside of Baltimore (there's a fireplace in every room!), and be sure to see the Liberty Bell in Philadelphia while we're there. When my Aunt comes to visit from Arizona, we'll do all the touristy things in San Francisco, like going to Alcatraz and walking over the Golden Gate Bridge. When we visit my brother's family in London, we'll go to Brighton, Stonehenge, and probably all of the places Harry Potter was filmed. There's also this park my Nephew loves, known to London locals as "Pirate park." We'll be sure to try afternoon tea somewhere fancy, and get a standard English breakfast somewhere cozy and inviting. During the holidays, we'll be surrounded by all of our family and friends. Day-to day, we'll spend time with friends close to home who have children and do all the things families do; amusement parks, petting zoos, libraries, parities, and play-dates. My friends without kids are also lining up to babysit and get to know this little person. They are a diverse bunch, and will all be incredible role models.

I will model compassion towards others for this child, and at the same time nurture their curiosity and common sense. As he or she gets older, I will enroll this child in whatever he or she shows interest in; perhaps gymnastics, perhaps music classes, or maybe art. I'll be cheering on their successes, and help them to see failure as a learning opportunity. I'll wait patiently until he or she is old enough to see their first musical (I was 7 - it was "Starlight Express").

While I'll encourage, I won't overwhelm. There will be lots of time for childhood, pretend play, and relaxing. Our weekends will contain some appointments and chores, but also lots of time for long, leisurely pancake breakfasts, bike rides, and Sunday Dinners.

Sometimes, we'll volunteer in our community together; helping those who are less fortunate. This child will learn that with enough effort and heart - he or she can do anything they put their mind to.

These are big plans, aren't they? We both know I may be getting ahead of myself. Before any of those things can happen, this child will need to talk, walk, and dare to dream. The first year will be all about bonding at home. Of course I'll purchase baby food, but I'll also try to make my own. Baby may hate it, and spit it out at me. We'll both laugh about it. We'll try out about a dozen baby backpacks before we find the right one. I'll join a walking group for new mothers, and push a Jogger around beautiful Lake Merritt.

I'll be a first time parent, and there will of course be trial and error! Nevertheless, he or she will fall asleep listening to lullabies and storybooks read aloud and feeling unconditionally loved, and I will learn as much from this little person as he or she will learn from me.

I know that considering adoption can't be easy, and I thank you for taking the time to learn about me. Please feel free to ask me any questions you may have. I am looking forward to hearing from you.

Latest Photos

Who I Am

You may be asking yourself how I ended up single and ready to adopt....

I had a long term relationship with a partner who passed away a few years ago. Right now, raising a child (while I am still young) is more important to me than finding a partner.

I am financially stable and have lots of maternity leave saved up. My job is also flexible, and much of it can be done at home.

Don't worry, I'm not doing this alone. I have wonderful friends and family who are willing and able to help me.

Here I am, pictured with the son of a friend. I love camping, travel, and doing little things at home. I can't wait to share all of that with a child of my own!

Adoption Diary

Distributing Masks!

I have this amazing Neighbor Ruth. She works at a store that is closed for the duration of the shelter in place, so she’s taken it upon herself to make masks for the neighborhood. She’s giving priority to those who work in the medical industry, and those who are high risk.

I asked Ruth for masks for a high-risk, older friend who continues to take her morning runs. I also supervise 2 behavior therapists who provide medically-funded, in-home ABA services to kids on the spectrum. While I get to do my supervision by zoom, they are actually in the child’s home for around 10 hours per week. So, today I packed and mailed 3 masks. They don’t have far to go, but I figured delivering them to the post office would be the best way to limit my time outside.

Ruth was also nice enough to give me a mask to use for grocery runs, etc - and she wouldn’t even take money for it. My marmalade didn’t set, but once I can re-cook and re-jar it (Just waiting on Amazon to deliver fresh lids), I’ll definitely be leaving some marmalade on her doorstep.

My giant head…

I just logged on Instagram and saw this amazing picture of my Wednesday online class (from the teacher’s perspective). I had no idea my head would look so giant. Can you see me? I’m the giant one.

Note to self; must work on my online image now that the world is on Zoom!

Thank You for Visiting Our Adoption Profile

We want to thank you for considering us as adoptive parents for your child.

We truly appreciate your kindness and strength and look forward to hearing from you.

Sincerely,

Michelle Lisa

or View More Families
Michelle Lisa