Emily & Marcus

https://www.adoptimist.com/adoption-parent-profile/36176

Last Activity: 43 minutes ago

About Us

photo of adoptive family's story

Our Story

We met in the fifth grade when Marcus moved to Emily's hometown in Michigan. We shared many of the same friends throughout middle and high school and often spent time hanging out together on evenings and weekends. We began dating the summer before our Junior year and the rest is history!

We attended the same college, were engaged during our final year, and married just after Marcus returned from his deployment to Iraq. We've now been together for over 20 years!

Becoming parents has always been a dream of ours. We knew from early in our relationship that adoption would be part of our story; we always imagined a big family with children both adopted and biological. We have faced some disappointment as we've struggled with infertility, but decided not to wait another day to begin growing our family. We're now home study approved and on the path to open adoption.

We treasure our life together - it's been filled with ups and downs, lots of adventure, and tons of laughter and love. We feel very lucky and cannot wait to share our lives with a very special child!

Our Home

photo of adoptive family's home We have lived in our current home for three years. It is a two-story, three-bedroom home in a quiet and well-established neighborhood. It's spacious, with plenty of room for a growing family, well-cared for, and thoughtfully decorated in our colorful and casual style.

Our home was built in the mid-1990s and we've enjoyed doing some updating, with plans for more updates in the future. We love our neighborhood for its diversity, the care and maintenance of the homes nearby, and its close proximity to our neighborhood park and playground.

Some of our favorite areas of the home include the kitchen, where we enjoy cooking together, the cozy living room with wood burning fireplace, and our spacious backyard where we often play yard games with friends and neighbors.

About Emily

adoptive family photo - Emily Emily is 35 years old. She grew up in a small town in Michigan, the youngest of seven half-siblings. She loved dancing and took dance classes from Kindergarten until she graduated from high school. Emily holds a Bachelor's degree in Education and has been working in the field of Early Childhood Education for almost 14 years. She loves working with children and Emily currently spends her days with preschoolers, ages 2 1/2-5. When she's not teaching, Emily enjoys cooking, reading, yoga, researching her family history, and painting. Emily can't wait for the opportunity to be a stay-at-home parent.

Marcus loves Emily because she's a loving and supportive partner and incredibly nurturing to those around her. She's passionate about caring for others and her laughter is contagious.

About Marcus

adoptive family photo - Marcus Marcus is 36 years old and the youngest in his family of three siblings. Marcus was born in Michigan but moved to Texas as an infant and lived there for 10 years before moving back to Michigan. Throughout his younger years, Marcus enjoyed playing sports and participating in local theater.

Marcus holds a Bachelor's degree in Mechanical Engineering, and after serving in the U.S. Army for 6 years, found his passion in the field of robotics. He now works as a robotics engineer. When Marcus isn't working, he enjoys woodworking, video games, cooking, kayaking, and making Emily laugh!

Emily loves Marcus because he's hardworking, caring, and always puts others first before himself. She adores his sense of humor and love of children.

Thank You for Visiting Our Adoption Profile

We want to thank you for considering us as adoptive parents for your child.

We truly appreciate your kindness and strength and look forward to hearing from you.

Sincerely,

Emily & Marcus

Visit Our Website or View More Families
Emily & Marcus