| 757-632-3176

David & Katie

https://www.adoptimist.com/adoption-parent-profile/33050

About Us

photo of adoptive family's story

Our Story

We are from the same hometown but didn’t meet until after college. Even though we had been introduced previously, David says it all started when we bumped into each other in the carpet aisle at Lowe's. Katie remembers that he kept showing up at the same events where she was, and was easy to talk to.

Some of our favorite activities together while we were dating included cooking, traveling, and going running. ​We found that we shared a love for kids, and spent our first Valentine’s Day watching two of Katie’s third-grade students play a rec-league basketball game. David proposed at the school playground on a freezing night in December, and we were married in July of 2013.

We have now been married over five years, and walked through job changes, a move to a new city, and bought our first home together. We talked about adoption, but decided to wait, and we welcomed our son Barrett in 2016. While parenting is not easy, we have loved watching him grow, and have always known we wanted multiple children. Katie has some health complications that make pregnancy challenging, and we spent over a year researching and praying about adoption. We know this is the next step for our family, and we are excited to continue to love and raise a family together.

Our Home

photo of adoptive family's home We live in a mid-sized city on the Atlantic coast, in a two-story house at the end of a cul-de-sac. Much of our family time happens in the downstairs living/dining room and kitchen, where we have shelves with books and toys, a children's table, and play kitchen. Our home includes a nursery with a crib and rocker ready for a baby. We also have a loft that can be used as a playroom or fourth bedroom.

Driving down our street, you will often see children playing outside and parents chatting nearby. Barrett looks forward to playing with the "big kids" as well as the younger children on the street. Our neighbors are also our friends, and we enjoy cookouts in the summer as well as a yearly Halloween tradition of a firepit in the cul-de-sac while we hand out candy to trick-or-treaters. The beach is 20 minutes away, and we enjoy going on summer and fall weekends. Within walking distance from our house, there are several playgrounds, a farmer's market, and a large public library with a bright and interactive children's area. One of our favorite weekend afternoon activities is going for walks as a family. We are members of the nearby YMCA and enjoy exercising as well as playing at their indoor and outdoor pools.

About David

adoptive family photo - David Age: 32
Education Level: Bachelor's Degree ​​
Occupation: Structural Engineer
Hobbies: frisbee, running, mentoring/ youth ministry, following professional sports especially baseball, travel ​


David is the steady anchor and comedic relief of our family. He is a structural engineer who applies his lifelong love for math to his work each day. He is an extrovert and has a down-to-earth way of interacting with young and old that makes them feel at ease and heard. He is thoughtful about teaching Barrett life lessons, like being patient and kind, as well as life skills, like making pancakes together on Saturday mornings. He has always been a kid at heart, and has volunteered for over 10 years in youth ministry through his church. Not many people know that he prefers taking baths, improvises goofy songs at home, and makes an amazing apple pie from scratch.

About Katie

adoptive family photo - Katie Age: 31
Education Level: Master's Degree
Occupation: ESL Teacher, part-time
Hobbies: yoga, walking, cooking, reading

Katie thrives as a nurturer, whether at home as a mother or at work as a teacher. She has a heart for children and currently works with students in Kindergarten through 5th grade who speak another language at home. Working three days per week allows her to have more time at home with Barrett, and one of her favorite parts of being a mom is sharing books together. She is always looking ahead for the family’s needs-- planning meals, making sure coats and hats are ready for winter, or planning home projects. Some little known facts about her are: her dream job is an event planner, she took piano lessons for 7 years as a kid, and she loves picking out the perfect gift and wrapping it beautifully.

Thank You for Visiting Our Adoption Profile

We want to thank you for considering us as adoptive parents for your child.

We truly appreciate your kindness and strength and look forward to hearing from you.

Sincerely,

David & Katie

757-632-3176 (toll-free)

or View More Families
David & Katie