| 844-785-1698

⭐️Lisa and Drew⭐️

https://www.adoptimist.com/adoption-parent-profile/32606

About Us

photo of adoptive family's story

Our Story

Drew and I met in 2011 when we were set up on a blind date by a friend! I almost didn't show but I am very glad I did. We met at Fort Bragg, NC when I was staying with a military friend. We were married in 2013. Drew is a medic in the United States Army and has been in the military for 13 years. I am a yoga studio manager and instructor, we currently live near Fort Belvoir, VA. I have a degree in baking and pastry arts and am only a few classes away from a Bachelor's degree in human development. I have experience working with people with developmental disabilities, mental illness and I was an ABA therapist for children with autism. With my experience in the field we are open to welcoming a child/children with special needs.

How did we come to decide adoption was for us? When we started talking about growing our family, adoption was on our minds and hearts and we knew that we were meant to adopt. We had Violet and started researching and gathering information on how to adopt shortly after she was born.
A little about our parenting style and what we hope for from adoption. I learned many useful parenting techniques in my job as an ABA therapist. Due to my training we like to use the positive reinforcement approach to parenting and using redirection, reinforcement and distraction techniques to promote desired behaviors. We are a very healthy family and encourage healthy eating habits young. We believe that giving a child tasks young is good for them! Violet learned how to help clean up her toys before she was 1. She now will close doors, cabinets and drawers, clean up spills, throw items in the trash and enjoys letting the dogs out from their beds. She really enjoys having tasks and being more independent and we believe it is great for a child's development and sense of accomplishment. We also like to teach children sign language. Children can sign earlier than they can speak so it gives them wonderful early communication skills which cuts down on their frustration and their needs are met sooner. Teaching Violet sign language has been a wonderful skill! She is just learning to speak but has been able to tell us if she wants to eat, drink, more, poop and help since before she could say words!

Our Home

We live in a 3 bedroom townhome in Lorton, VA. We are very close to DC which has lovely free museums. We live close to shopping and close to I95 for travel.

About Lisa

adoptive family photo - Lisa When I asked Drew what are the traits he values most he said:

*I am a great mother
*I help him stay focused
*I am encouraging to him and he wouldn't be where he is today without me

✨Fun facts about me✨

• I am an entrepreneur- I had my own small business making baby clothes and a small cake bakery business
• I worked as an actress in a Haunted House

I have three siblings, one older half biological brother and 2 younger biological brothers. We all were raised in the same home together. My older brother is 11 years older and we all looked up to him. He joined the military at 18 years old. One of my younger brothers is a music teacher and the other is a police officer. We grew up on Long Island, NY and traveled often for family vacations. We mostly went camping on our vacations and traveled on the East Coast. I have fond memories of the trips! I am a jack of all trades and am always striving to learn new things. Among the list is a seamstress, pastry chef, yoga instructor, and Tinkergarten leader. I have a passion for travel and change! I love to rearrange furniture or change my hair often. I was a stay at home mother for 2 years and will likely return to being a stay at home mother whenever the military moves us to a new location.

About Drew

adoptive family photo - Drew When I asked Lisa what she values most in me she said:

*Completely supportive of anything I do
*Patient and understanding
*Compassionate and always giving to others in need

I have been in the US Army for 13 years and plan to stay until retirement. I have had the opportunity to travel to and live in many different states and countries. While I have been served several deployment tours, I have been stateside for the last 8 years.
I have 4 siblings, 2 step brothers and 2 half biological sisters. They live on the West coast currently. As a child I grew up in California and moved to Oregon with my family when I was in my teens.

I enjoying riding my motorcycle and spending time with my family.

Thank You for Visiting Our Adoption Profile

We want to thank you for considering us as adoptive parents for your child.

We truly appreciate your kindness and strength and look forward to hearing from you.

Sincerely,

⭐️Lisa and Drew⭐️

844-785-1698 (toll-free)

Visit Our Website or View More Families
⭐️Lisa and Drew⭐️