Jess & John

https://www.adoptimist.com/adoption-parent-profile/32382

About Us

photo of adoptive family's story

Our Story

We met in grad school in 2005, but didn't start dating until 2007. Once we did, though, we quickly fell in love. Jess was drawn to John's great sense of humor and amazing brain. John was drawn to Jess' determination and goofiness.

We got married in Vermont (where Jess grew up) in 2012, surrounded by our friends and family. Our wedding was basically a chance to have a big fun party, with lots of dancing, lots of good food, and tons of laughter.

We live in Virginia now and both work as college professors. John teaches government and Jess is an archaeologist. We often spend our summers traveling for Jess' work, going to places to like Greece and Italy.

When we're not digging in the dirt, we love to go hiking, visit national parks, try new foods, read, and play games. We like to travel and visit new places whenever we can.

Family is very important to us. John comes from a big family and getting together during holidays (or just for fun!) is something that happens all the time. Jess' family is pretty spread out, but they do a good job of staying in touch. We also count many of our friends as "extra family." We are fortunate to have great friends all over the country.

After several years of dealing with infertility, Jess finally became pregnant via IVF. Due to severe pregnancy complications, though, our son, Marcus, was born 2 months premature and had several health problems. We got to spend 138 amazing days with him in the hospital. He taught us about the power of love and we know that any child we bring into our family will have a special big brother watching over him or her.

Our Home

We live in a quiet neighborhood in Virginia. Our house is surrounded by several trees and many friendly neighbors! We live across the street from an elementary school and close to many parks and rec centers.

About Jess

adoptive family photo - Jess Jess grew up in Vermont, which gave her a love of nature from an early age. She enjoys hiking in the woods and wants to visit all the National Parks someday!

Jess also managed to find a job that lets her be outside a lot. She's an archaeologist and in the summer, she works mainly in Greece and Italy. It's hard work, but a lot of fun! Luckily, John is able to come with her most summers and help out on the digs.

When she's not hiking or digging, Jess loves to bake. Pies, cookies, cakes, bread -- everything! Her students have learned to expect extra brownies during final exam period and friends often request birthday cakes from her.

Thank You for Visiting Our Adoption Profile

We want to thank you for considering us as adoptive parents for your child.

We truly appreciate your kindness and strength and look forward to hearing from you.

Sincerely,

Jess & John

or View More Families
Jess & John