| 844-410-6827

Arlin and Amanda

https://www.adoptimist.com/adoption-parent-profile/31506

About Us

photo of adoptive family's story

Our Story

Our Marriage

We met at college in the spring of 2000 at OSU. We ended up being neighbors in an off-campus apartment. We were friends for a long time then we began dating when Amanda finished graduate school. Over the course of our friendship we found out that we had many things in common. We think this is why our relationship has such a firm foundation----17 years later we are still best friends!

We have been married now for 11 years. During this time we have learned to work together as a team. We share responsibilities and we always have a good time together. Our marriage, relationships and family are the most important things to us. We fell that if these things are solid everything else will fall into place.

We love to have fun together whether it's an adventure or just relaxing at home. We enjoy going on vacation with friends and family. We've been to Hawaii, St. Lucia, Jamaica and Dominican Republic. We also like going on weekend trips to Chicago and New York City. We take the girls to the beach each summer. We've been to Florida, North Carolina and Cozumel. This summer we are surprising them with a trip to Disney World! We love spending time with our friends and family just laughing and enjoying each others company!

Our Home

photo of adoptive family's home We live in a great neighborhood on a quiet court. We live close to the elementary school and a community park. We looked long and hard for the perfect house. We love our house because it has plenty of room for kids. There is a great front and back yard. We have 4 bedrooms and a finished basement for fun and games. Our house is big enough for our friends and family to come spend time with us. We have great neighbors and lots of children on our street.

About Amanda

adoptive family photo - Amanda I am originally from south western Ohio, near Cincinnati. Throughout my childhood I was very involved in school. I kept active through dance. I danced competitively for many years at a studio as well as on my school dance team. I was also very social and loved hanging out with my friends. I moved to the Columbus area when I started college at Ohio State. I loved college and made lots of friends. I still keep in close contact with my friends from home and my college friends. I'm also close friends with my coworkers. It has been so nice to share our life experiences as we grow and raise our families.

I graduated with a child development degree. Next I went to graduate school at Ohio State and got my Masters in Elementary Education. I taught 1st grade for 7 years. Now I have been the reading specialist at my school for the last 8 years and I absolutely love it! I get to work with students and help them learn to read and to enjoy reading as much as I do. We live very close to the elementary school where I work so I only have a 6-minute drive. I also love how my job allows me to have a lot of time off to spend with my family.

My parents come to visit us often. They love our 2 dogs and say that Alivia and Ava are their "sunshine". They are very excited to have another grandchild to spoil! My brother is ten years younger than me but we are still close. He loves being Uncle B. I always loved having a sibling. I want my children to feel the same way with their future siblings.

There are so many things that I love to do. I am very passionate about things. I love to make people laugh and have a good time. I am pretty organized and I always try my best, although I do love my relaxing time! I love to read and go to the library. I like to go shopping and spend time with my friends and family (including our dogs Bella and Puff). I really enjoy learning about new things. Education is very important to me so I consider myself to be a life-long learner. I like to sing and dance. I like to plan play dates with our friends and their children. I also love to go to family events in the community.

Arlin says: Mandi is a sweet and sensitive person. She is fun to be around and it always ready for any activity. Family and friends are always excited when she is around because she adds excitement and energy to every situation. She is dedicated to the kids she teaches and to her friends and family who she would do anything for. She gives every person and animal the love they need and want. Amanda is a great mother! She has many fun activities that she does with Alivia and Ava all the time.

About Arlin

adoptive family photo - Arlin I grew up in a small town just outside of Columbus, Ohio. We lived out in the country so all my activities while growing up involved being outside. My favorite sport to play is baseball. I am the youngest of three children. I have one sister named Roxanne. She is married and has four children. She is the oldest. I have a brother Wesley. He is also married with four children. We often get together at my parents' house. I love playing with my eight nieces and nephews. We like to do everything from reading books to wrestling around.

I have a degree from Ohio State in Transportation and Logistics. I am a civilian that works for the Department of Defense. I am a supervisor that manages stock levels to make sure the troops have all the supplies they need. My job comes with a lot of flexibility so I am able to spend time with my family.

I like to spend time outdoors. My favorite activities are any kind of sport. I like to play softball and basketball. I like when we take our girls and our dogs on a walk or to the park. I love to cheer on my favorite teams: the Chicago Cubs and the Chicago Bears. I enjoy watching movies, playing cards and hanging out with family and friends. I love playing ball with Alivia and Ava. I can't wait to support them in whatever activities they choose to do.

Amanda says: Arlin is a wonderful person. He is so kind and considerate to all those around him. He is someone that you can always count on. He has a very relaxed demeanor and he thinks things through before making any hasty decisions. He is a friendly guy and he gets along with everyone. He always tries to make a situation fun. He is a very hard worker and he is dedicated to all that he cares about. Alivia and Ava absolutely adore him!

Thank You for Visiting Our Adoption Profile

We want to thank you for considering us as adoptive parents for your child.

We truly appreciate your kindness and strength and look forward to hearing from you.

Sincerely,

Arlin and Amanda

844-410-6827 (toll-free)

or View More Families
Arlin and Amanda