| 844-233-6883

Abby Sophia

https://www.adoptimist.com/adoption-parent-profile/31320

About Me

photo of adoptive family's story

My Story

While Colorado is my chosen home, I was raised in a small New England town in a large artistic family that instilled in me a genuine appreciation for different perspectives and a higher-than-normal tolerance for chaos! I am one of four siblings, two of whom were transracially adopted, and the proud aunt of six nieces and nephews and two great-nephews.

I am currently single, but I have a strong support network of friends and family. I was married for seven years and did try to conceive for many of those years. It was an amicable divorce, however, and he is very encouraging of my desire to continue to pursue my goal of parenting through adoption.

I am fortunate to have had a successful career–first as a scientist, then as a Coast Guard officer, and now working on a university campus. I believe strongly in the importance of education, and the way it can change lives. My parents were both teachers and they instilled in me the importance of curiosity, continuous learning, and hard work to craft a meaningful life. While I am not a teacher, I love working in a university setting and interacting regularly with students.

I generally care about experiences more than stuff! I love the Colorado mountains and spend as much time as I can hiking, biking, trail running, and skiing. I have also been fortunate to travel extensively in my life, both within the U.S. and internationally, and I would hope to continue travelling with a child. I spent my junior year in high school as a foreign exchange student in France. This experience not only exposed me to a new culture and language, but it really changed my entire outlook on life. Since then I have travelled extensively throughout Europe, Asia, Central America, and the Middle East. I have also driven across the United States 3 times and enjoyed taking a different route each time! I have visited 49 out of 50 states (I’m only missing North Dakota, but hope to remedy that soon). My travel bucket list includes Chile, Iceland, Antarctica, and New Zealand.

I grew up with dogs, but now I have two cats named Piglz and Crusher (long story!). We adopted them when they were just 8-weeks old, after they had been abandoned by their mother. They were handled a lot by shelter volunteers when they were young, so they are very comfortable with people. I would say they act more like dogs that cats in that they meet me at the door when I come home and always want to be in the same room as me. They are also super snuggly which I love! I hope someday to also get a dog, but it would have to be the right fit for my child and my cats.

Thank you for the opportunity to share with you a little more about myself. I promise that, if given the chance, I would provide your child with all the tools necessary to uncover their own identity, interests, and place in the world through offering lots of love, encouragement, and opportunity.

My Home

photo of adoptive family's home I own a single family home in a lovely neighborhood that is nestled at the foothills of the Rockies. The closest trailhead is about 10 minutes from my house, and there are also a number of parks and a lake nearby. My neighborhood is home to top-rated elementary, middle, and high schools that are located within a mile from my house. My neighborhood is also filled with kids who run and ride their bikes around freely, which I love because it reminds me of my childhood.

About Abby

adoptive family photo - Abby I grew up on an island surrounded by the ocean, but I fell in love with the Colorado mountains and try to adventure in them as much as possible. I believe in maintaining a balance of work, play, and down time, and I love spending time with my friends and family.

In my free time, I enjoy cooking and reading, and I also just finished a major renovation of my house which kept me pretty busy for many months! I am an active member of a Masters swim team that is a great and supportive group of people. Finally, I enjoy volunteering, as I truly believe in the importance of being an engaged citizen and being involved in your community.

My parents were both teachers (my mother taught music and my father taught art), my sister currently teaches Kindergarten, and I love working in a university setting and interacting regularly with students. I was the first girl to graduate from an all-boys high school, which was a unique and challenging experience! I was also fortunate to attend amazing universities at both the undergraduate and graduate level (Yale and MIT). I believe that formal education, however, is only one part of the equation.

I have a strong network of friends and family. While most of my family is back on the East Coast, we visit often! I also keep in touch with many close friends from different phases on my life - from elementary school all the way through college. While many of them are scattered across the country, I make it a point to travel to visit them whenever I can. Fortunately, many of them are in Colorado, and I enjoy spending time with them and their families.

I am very proud of my career, and feel fortunate that I'm in a place to offer so much to a child. I would say that my workplace is very family friendly and I have access to lots of vacation and sick time if needed, as well as an understanding boss!

Thank You for Visiting Our Adoption Profile

We want to thank you for considering us as adoptive parents for your child.

We truly appreciate your kindness and strength and look forward to hearing from you.

Sincerely,

Abby Sophia

844-233-6883 (toll-free)

or View More Families
Abby Sophia