| 1-800-761-4701

Dana and Susan


About Us

Our Story

We met at a conference for math teachers (geeky, we know!) in 2012. We are both former math teachers but are still involved in education. It was love at first "talk" for both of us -- we didn't shut up the entire night we met. Lots of gabbing about everything. But, Dana lived in Las Vegas, and Susan lived in New York, so we weren't sure we'd see each other again. Well, fast forward to 2018, and we'll be married 3 years this July 4!

Six years after the night we met, we still love to talk about any and everything. Education, television, sports (big Oakland Raiders fans here), music, you name it. (Not big on politics, though.) We both work (generally) from home, so we have tons of time to play with our 4 cats and 2 dogs. We've got a sense of humor about most things and get a kick out of making each other fall over laughing. We support each other through every new endeavor, no matter how far-fetched it may seem.

We will share with you that we lost 2 pregnancies -- and we're telling you that not to inspire pity. We're telling you that to let you know we have overcome some tough pain together, stuck by each other, and continued to have hope that we will have a family one day. We don't shy away from tackling the tough stuff. When something is hard, then it means it's worth it.

So, here we are, looking to adopt in an open adoption. We can't say it was part of the plan at the start, but we know it's a plan we are going to follow to the end.

Our Home

photo of adoptive family's home We live in a suburban community on Long Island in New York where the school system is excellent, the crime rate is extremely low, and there are plenty of activities and opportunities available to children.

Our home has 2 floors -- our main living floor and a finished basement. We have 3 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms, and a beautiful backyard which we use for gardening. Our patio sits under a pergola decorated with plenty of lighting for summer night barbecues. Both of our offices are in our home since our jobs are remote. We live on a dead-end street, so the traffic is minimal and opportunities for bike-riding are plenty!

About Susan

adoptive family photo - Susan I grew up in an apartment in a suburban NYC town with my mom, dad, younger brother (who is my hero), and my grandmother. Both my parents worked and my grandmother took care of me and my brother until we were old enough for school. I learned to play the guitar and piano from my dad and started writing songs when I was 15. I joined a band when I was 19 and played in venues all over the city. I earned a degree in English and started working for a publishing company in Manhattan. When I wanted a change in career, I took a job teaching mathematics in an all-girls Catholic school and my life completely changed. I went back to college for a masters degree in math education and continued to teach for 12 years. While teaching, I played in several bands and released four albums. Although my life as a performing musician is a bit behind me, I’ve devoted time to other early loves of my life, including art and making jewelry. I learned to crochet and love making pieces for friends and family. Currently, I work from home for the Iowa-based assessment company ACT, which allows me to continue working in my favorite subject (mathematics!) and spend lots of time with our puppies!

About Dana

adoptive family photo - Dana I grew up in a small upstate New York town, a town-that-didn’t-even-have-a-traffic-light, small. Mother was a teacher and Father was a dairy farmer. I have two older sisters which made me the baby of the family. After high school, I went to college to pursue a degree in Mathematics with a focus on Education and Computer Science. After college, I went into education for 10 years. I taught high school mathematics and became a football, basketball and softball coach for the school district. It is a true passion of mine to teach, inspire and motivate children to succeed in life. In 2008, I shifted gears and joined Texas Instruments’ Educational Technology division. I now get to work with educators and students all over NY and PA. I am an avid sports fan, a runner, swimmer, and true lover of life. I believe that love is always the answer; unless the answer is 4. Then definitely go with 4.
Oh did I mention that I have a great sense of humor?
That’s me in a nutshell.

Thank You for Visiting Our Adoption Profile

We want to thank you for considering us as adoptive parents for your child.

We truly appreciate your kindness and strength and look forward to hearing from you.


Dana and Susan

1-800-761-4701 (toll-free)

Visit Our Website or View More Families
Dana and Susan