Matt & Megan

https://www.adoptimist.com/adoption-parent-profile/29215

About Us

Our Story

We met in the hallway on our first day of law school. Four years later, we were married!

We’ve had a great time together since then, and feel that a solid foundation of respect and friendship and a shared sense of humor are key components of our relationship.

We enjoy spending time together, going on walks with our dog, watching movies at home, going on fun vacations, and spending time with our family and friends. We are excited to add to our family!

Our Home

photo of adoptive family's home We live in a quiet suburb of a city in Ohio, which has a great school district. We have great neighbors (we just had a barbeque with many of them), and like to go on walks in our subdivision with our dog.

Living in Matt’s hometown, we see people we know when we are out and about, and we have a lot of friends and family in town. We are also a short drive away from Megan’s family, and take frequent family vacations with them.

There is lots of room in the backyard to play and put in a swingset. Our backyard backs up to the woods, which is very relaxing, and perhaps may even accommodate a treehouse!

We recently built on a screen-in porch in the back of the house, and we love to spend time there reading and relaxing, or having dinner with friends and family. We also have a lot of fun decorating our house for the holidays, especially Christmas and Halloween.

We will raise your child with unconditional love and support. We will encourage them to be themselves and to pursue their passions in life.

Education and lifelong learning are important to us, and we will encourage your child to attend college. We will teach them to love and respect others, to be kind, faith in God, and the importance of community service. We enjoy traveling and cultural experiences like museums and plays, and plan to share these experiences with your child.

We love animals and have a sweet Cavalier King Charles Spaniel, Coco, who is great with kids and loves everyone. She will be a fun pet for a child to have.

About Matt

About Matt:

I went to Ohio University for undergrad and majored in criminology, and then on to law school. I work as a self-employed attorney and my office is right down the street from our house, which is extremely convenient.

In addition to spending time with family and friends, my hobbies include cooking, all genres of movies (I spent a year in film school in Boston prior to pursuing a legal education), reading, swimming/hot tubbing whenever possible, exploring international foods, and doting on our dog.

In addition to leisure activities, Megan and I enjoy volunteering in the community.

Family:

I was raised as an only child by my mom and dad in a loving home, and I have many aunts, uncles, and cousins. I have always had a close relationship with my family. We live in the town where I grew up and many family members and friends still live in town, including my parents.

About 8 years ago, my family grew considerably when I tracked down and met my birthparents: both parents married other people and have families of their own, giving me a total of four siblings, as well as more uncles, aunts, and cousins.

My birthmother, her husband, and the majority of their extended family live in our town and we see them frequently. Both my adoptive and birth families are excited for the prospect of us adopting a child.

Megan on Matt:

In high school, Matt was voted “everyone’s friend,” which is a good summary of him as a person! He is truly the best, most loyal friend or family member anyone could have.

He is funny, outgoing, kind, hardworking, and intelligent. I know he will be a devoted father, and family is very important to him. He loves planning and cooking for family gatherings and vacations.

Matt will be especially great at talking to our child about his/her adoption, as he was adopted himself. He has a great relationship with his parents and his birthparents, who he connected with in his early twenties and now sees regularly.

About Megan

I grew up in Michigan and moved to Ohio for college, where I majored in psychology. After that I went to law school, and I now work as a corporate lawyer for a company in the energy industry, which I enjoy.

My company is great and very family-friendly, and I plan to work part-time when we have a child. On the days I work, Matt or his mom will be able to take care of our child (Matt’s job provides him flexibility as well).

I enjoy spending time with family and friends, reading, doing barre and yoga, traveling, shopping on occasion, and watching my favorite shows on Netflix.

Family:

I grew up in a loving, supportive home with my mom, dad, and three younger brothers, and we are all very close. They live about four hours away and Matt and I see them regularly.

We love to spend time together in Florida, where they have a vacation home, and we already have a lot of fond memories of family fun at the beach.

My parents each come from a large family so I have a lot of aunts, uncles, and cousins around the country that we like to visit and have visit us. The whole family is excited about the adoption process and to welcome a new family member!

Matt on Megan:

Megan is a kind, loving, caring, gentle soul. She is a supportive wife, a talented attorney, and a fantastic person in general.

She is very patient (which is a great quality in a parent or spouse) and extremely intelligent. She is also a lot of fun to be around, witty, and she does not shy away from trying new things. She carries herself with grace and poise and people are always delighted to spend time with her.

Given the qualities Megan possesses, any child would be lucky to call her mother. She will be very supportive and active in the child’s life. She will be a patient teacher and a wonderful role model.

Thank You for Visiting Our Adoption Profile

We want to thank you for considering us as adoptive parents for your child.

We truly appreciate your kindness and strength and look forward to hearing from you.

Sincerely,

Matt & Megan

or View More Families
Matt & Megan