| 540-621-3499

Robert & Kris

https://www.adoptimist.com/adoption-parent-profile/25760

About Us

photo of adoptive family's story

Our Story

Family Time Is the Best Time:
We are a very close family who make it a priority to spend lots of time together just hanging out and being with each other. Family is what's most important to us. Each year we take a trip to England to visit with Robert's parents (who live in a small village on the English Channel). Tempe and Kris travel to Kentucky at least four times per year to visit with Kris's family. During the summertime, we spend afternoons and weekends at the pool, go for long walks and hikes at the parks and battlefields around our area, cookout, visit our friend's farm and take vacations. This year we already went to Disney World and are planning our annual trip to England, and a beach vacation at Hilton Head.

Education and Friends:
Tempe is in preschool right now, and getting ready for kindergarten. She's in a private school now, but will be transitioning to a public school in the fall for kindergarten. Her school is amazing. She has 18 kids in her class, with two teachers. She is close to all the kids, and it seems every month we go to at least one birthday party where all of the kids come to play and hang out together. She's learned her alphabet and is now working on sight words (you, in, the ...). She wants to read so badly - after all she has probably 100 books on her bookshelf in her room. She knows all her numbers and loves to count to 100 in tens. She's looking forward to kindergarten and is working hard on getting ready. We've heard the kindergarten rates well as one of the top schools in the area.

Robert and Kris Together:
It's also important for us to have "adult time" together. Tempe has had the same babysitter since she was 6 months old. She's a 23-year-old who will be graduating from college this summer with a degree in Economics. Since she's staying in the area to work, she'll continue to be Tempe's babysitter. Robert and Kris go out to dinner and movies, meet friends, go for long walks downtown. Our little community has so much to do. There's always a play, a band, or a festival going on and we love to get out.

How We Met and What Makes Us Close:
We are best friends, and have been together since 2005. We met in Kentucky online and dated for two years. We then had a small family wedding at Kris's parents' house in 2007. (It's a beautiful home.) We've lived in the city of Lexington and then out on a rural farm in Trapp, Kentucky. Robert then got offered a job with the FBI, which took us to Virginia. Kris had never lived outside the state of Kentucky so it was a whole new outlook on life. We've had many adventures together, both before Tempe was born and after. Our solid foundation together has made us able to withstand the ups and downs of life, and to be the best parents we can be now that Tempe is in our life.

Kris's Work and Hobbies:
Because Kris wanted to spend as much time with Tempe as possible, she quit her regular job and started her own company. This allows her to work from home and be at home as much as possible. Working from home allows Kris to have a flexible schedule. She attends all of Tempe's school events and has a lot of time to keep our home feeling like home. She also walks the dogs five days a week in the neighborhood, does yoga and loves to cook. (Thank goodness Robert and Tempe will pretty much try anything.)

Robert's Work and Hobbies:
Robert says he doesn't have a job, he has a career. He happily works in the Ballistics facility at the FBI. He loves his job. Every day he gets to work with a close-knit group of guys who all have families (and kids) of their own. They work on the FBI range, running tests and making sure all of the equipment used across the FBI is as safe and accurate as possible. He is well-respected in his field and feels challenged by his responsibilities. Robert also balances his professional life with his home life. He's home every day by 3:30 in the afternoon which allows him to spend as much time with family as possible. He often comes home and says, "I'll come with you to pick up Tempe if you give me 10 minutes." In the late afternoons and weekends, Robert likes to work in his garden. He is also very engaged in world sports, and is a big fan of English Premiership Soccer and Cricket. During cricket season, you might find he and Tempe in the back yard trying to hit the wickets!

What Life Will Be Like with a Brother or Sister:
We have so much fun together, and love each other so much. This was the reason why we decided to grow our family once again. When we're in the middle of a family pile with the dogs jumping up on us and wagging their tails, it's easy to imagine having one more to love. But life is not a fairy tale and we realize adding another child into the mix will take some adjustment. We've talked to Tempe quite a bit about what it means to grow our family, and have been working to help her become more independent (taking showers, getting her own snacks, finding her own hobbies) so she has the confidence to be a big sister. Kris told Tempe she will be such a big helper, and we plan to involve her in every aspect of new brother or sister's life. We're also helping Tempe understand the emotional changes that will happen. She may not be happy about sharing mom and dad at first - and that's okay. We plan to help her process the emotions that naturally come with expanding a family.

As for the little one, we have set aside a room just for him or her. The room is quiet and quaint - just the perfect size for a little one to feel comforted and loved. Even if the child we adopt is not a newborn (we are approved to adopt a child aged 0-2), we've been advised by a pediatrician to start him or her out in a crib to give them a sense of security. (Though we remember Tempe started climbing out of her bed at the age of 3!) As a newborn, Tempe was a very happy baby. She got up every two hours during the evening to feed. Robert and Kris took turns - with Kris taking the first half of the night so Robert could sleep, or vice versa. We were tired those first few months, but the bonding process happened! And of course family and friends visited as much as possible to welcome her to the world. We have no doubt it will be a happy happy time when our new addition arrives.

We are book readers in this house, so we already have a pile of books ready to read to baby, and plenty of toys that he or she can call their own. Tempe and her sister or brother will share a play room that's already packed with a tent, toy soldiers, two train sets, Barbie dolls, play clothes, puzzles, games, lots of stuffed animals, balls and a TV that is used exclusively to watch DVDs. We keep the floor cleared (except when a horse competition or train building competition happens) so there's lots of room to move around in there. And mom or dad are never far away, as the play room is just off the bedrooms. Some of Tempe's favorites are The Good Dinosaur, Zootopia and Moana. We can't wait to see what our new addition will get him or herself into ... every child is unique and we can't wait to help him or her discover themselves just as we do Tempe.

The Excitement of Anticipation:
We're excited to be on this journey, and are looking forward to meeting incredible expectant parents who feel like our little family might be a fit for their child.

If you are considering an adoption plan for your child, we'd be honored if you would consider us in your search for adoptive parents. To get a hold of us or to learn more:

Call or text: 1-540-621-3499
Email us: adoptionisapowerfulchoice@gmail.com

Our Home

photo of adoptive family's home We live in a neighborhood with walking trails, a pool, and lots of playgrounds and fields. There are kids on every corner and the neighborhood hosts a number of events, including Easter egg hunts and luaus.

Our home has four bedrooms: one for Robert and Kris, one for Tempe, one that has been converted to a playroom, and one that is reserved for our new family member.

We spend a lot of time in our kitchen and family room. Tempe and Kris cook together often (you know, cupcakes and cookies) and we're always listening to music or watching a football game (at least that's what they call it in England, where Robert's from), or playing with our two dogs.

Robert is an avid gardener, so our back yard has flower beds and lots of trees and bushes that kids can dig around. We have an apple tree and an herb box that we plant tomatoes and other vegetables in. During the fall and spring, we cook spider dogs and marshmallows at our fire pit and we have a huge field behind our house that leads to a wooded area. There we feed foxes and watch deer, rabbits, possum and countless birds right from our deck.

On Friday evenings, we have a movie night in our basement with our big TV. We always do a big spread with chicken wings, fruit, veggies with dip, chips and other snacks. We pick the movie out as a family and sometimes play games.

We had such a fun time creating a warm, safe and cozy environment for Tempe before she was born. Her nursery was our favorite room in the house. And now that she's five, her room is still pretty awesome. We're working to gather some ideas for our new addition, when he or she comes. Whether it's a newborn or a child up to the age of two, we plan to create just as awesome of a room.

Although we've bought some basics, until we know exactly who he or she is, we want to wait to build an environment around them. So we've been working on Pinterest boards for a boy and a girl. (And if it's twins, well, that's a whole different story!)

Visit our boards!

Boy: https://www.pinterest.com/adoptionisapowerfulchoice/breadboard/

Girl: https://www.pinterest.com/adoptionisapowerfulchoice/dagny/

It could be that the room looks nothing like anything on these boards, because when we do add a new brother or sister, we may get lots and lots of gifts from friends and family, like we did for Tempe. And those gifts will likely influence his or her room.

You might be wondering about our board names. Well, Robert's brother recently had his DNA tested for ancestry. He found he was 17% Scandinavian, meaning he could have Viking ancestry. So we used Viking names for our boy and girl boards just for fun.

Why be normal, right?

About Robert

adoptive family photo - Robert "I was born and raised in England, where my Father told me of his adventures and travels in the United States, a land of opportunity. I have had a wonderful journey through life, with the honor to serve in America's Armed Forces. Now I would love the chance to share my adventures and travels with your child. So I ask for the opportunity to be a Father myself once again."

About Kris

adoptive family photo - Kris "No life is perfect. But I do believe this life we all share is quite amazing, no matter what your path. I look forward to seeing this amazing life through the eyes of your child, sharing in the laughter, the wonder, the tears, the challenges and all the rewards it will bring to all of us as a family. My hope is that Robert, Tempe and I I will be given the opportunity to provide a secure, loving and welcoming home to another little soul who deserves the world."

Thank You for Visiting Our Adoption Profile

We want to thank you for considering us as adoptive parents for your child.

We truly appreciate your kindness and strength and look forward to hearing from you.

Sincerely,

Robert & Kris

540-621-3499 (toll-free)

Visit Our Website or View More Families
Robert & Kris