| 646-589-4574

Lenora New Family

https://www.adoptimist.com/adoption-parent-profile/23167

About Me

photo of adoptive family's story

My Story

I have wanted to have a family for a long time.

I'm adopting as a single parent. I took longer than my friends to dedicate myself to having a family. I wanted to make sure that I could give a family a secure, stable and supportive home.

I'm proud that I built an amazing career in economic development and finance and am now ready to devote myself to this next inspiring part of my life - my own family.

I was with someone for 6 years and loved every bit of having his two boys with us. I still adore them. Unfortunately, that wasn't the right relationship for me or for my new family.

Now I'm at a place in life where I can give a child a wonderful world in my own big family.

I have a big family, and I love it. The first ones came here from Lebanon, Greece and Germany not very long ago. Dad, mom, 2 stepmoms, brothers, sister, aunts, so many cousins, and old family friends who are just like family. I have two stepsiblings (a brother and a sister, who feel like birth siblings) and a half sibling (a brother who I'm close to).

I have family by marriage, family by divorce, family all over the world - in Texas, Massachusetts, Greece, Lebanon, London, Spain...

That's how my family is. Everyone is family no matter where they are. Whatever the distance, we are always here for each other.

My career has been about good important work and passion to build a better world. Growing up and even now, I have watched my dad, sister, aunt, cousins and two stepmothers be respected medical professionals - doctors, dentist, nurse, physician's assistant - while caring for family at the same time. They help so many people in need, people who are very sick, people who are so thankful to have caring, smart people there for them.

It had a big impact on me. In the end, though, I decided not to pursue medicine but instead decided to work for a different kind of good in the world.

I studied economics and finance. I traveled to so many developing countries. I worked in what's called a development finance institution - an international bank that fights poverty and works to raise the living standards of people all over the world.

I worked in banking and investments too. I realized I wanted to use those skills to help people. I wanted to make finance work better for people who are disadvantaged or left out of the system.

I worked for an international organization helping governments and non profits with projects to reduce poverty, improve public health, education and gender equality and to build sustainability.

I became interested in housing and cities and started my own company to help make affordable housing a reality in places like India, Brazil and South Africa.

Now I work for a technology company that helps people invest for sustainable societies, where we can all live, work, have families and be healthy and happy together, everyone, no matter who.

I also sit on the Board of a foundation that builds people power - big movements for social justice all over the US.

Travel and languages have always been my way of understanding the world and connecting with people

I speak English, Spanish, Portuguese and French. I learned some Arabic and Greek in college because of my family but now only know enough to be cute in a restaurant.

I love how much people enjoy and appreciate that you learn their language and communicate with them the way they communicate. It's one of the most important things I've ever done to connect with other people.

I have traveled all over the world and look forward to discovering places for the first time and seeing so many places again through the eyes of a child.

And now, it's time to have my own family, to share all this joy and to learn about the world together.

My Home

photo of adoptive family's home I live in a big apartment with a patio in a beautiful neighborhood in New York. I have two bedrooms (one for me and one for our child) and a study. I have brightly colored walls and art from all the places I've traveled. I also have the two sweetest (but very shy) kitties ever.

Where I live is right next to great schools, a wonderful park, a great library, a big garden and an amazing museum. We're going to spend lots of time walking around the neighborhood seeing and playing with friends and neighbors.

My apartment is in a small friendly building where most of my neighbors have babies and children and where everyone knows each other and helps out. We have parties for the children in the building at every holiday. My neighbor's daughter already takes care of my cat and babysits in the building. She's excited for me to adopt!

About Lenora

Life is a gift, and I believe I have many gifts to share. I've been inspired by so many people in my life and called to try to make the world a better place.

I believe in experience, persistence, education and hard work. I traveled all over the world to Europe, Latin America, Asia, Africa and in the US... so that I could know how people live in different places.

I wanted to understand how fortunate I am and what good, important work is. It is challenging in our world to be safe, secure, healthy, educated, have a job and somewhere to live. And there is a lot to do to help everyone, especially people who are disadvantaged and left out of the system, have the same opportunities.

I also believe in communication and languages as a way of connecting with people. This is why I've spent so much time learning other languages. Plus, it's really fun.

Finally, fun. I love to have fun. I'm very social. I have dinners and bbq's at my house. I have great friends in New York, old friends from college. I'm proud of my amazing friends. They're like family to me.

It's also fun to travel. I have friends and family all over the world, so we will always have fun people to visit in Brazil, China, Spain, London, Paris, India, Switzerland and, closer, in San Francisco, Colorado, Washington and Philadelphia.

Health and nutrition are important to me because of all the doctors in my family.

I love to play outside and we will do a lot of that together. We will spend lots of time at the beach and in parks and gardens.

I surf, swim, ski, bike, run and hike outside. I've done triathlons, half marathons and other races. I do races because they teach you to be persistent, to work at something, to learn about other people and to be patient with yourself. I have also been practicing yoga for 15 years.

I also love food and am a pretty good cook. Because there are people from all over the world in my family, and I've traveled so much, I enjoy learning to cook with fresh ingredients from the farmers market and eating healthy. I've taken cooking courses in the US, India, China and Mexico.

One last important thing that gives me joy is music. I grew up with music. My mom sang and played guitar in a band with my aunt, who played drums and danced. I played piano for 15 years. I also learned how to play drums for a while. I even took drum lessons in Cuba. There are three drummers in my family, and one is professional. My dad loves classical music. I go to concerts whenever I have time. I have a huge music collection.

I love music because it is the sound of our lives. The memories. The fun. Being in love. Being sad. Being thrilled. Music makes everything better and deeper and sweeter and more beautiful.

Thank You for Visiting Our Adoption Profile

We want to thank you for considering us as adoptive parents for your child.

We truly appreciate your kindness and strength and look forward to hearing from you.

Sincerely,

Lenora New Family

646-589-4574 (toll-free)

Visit Our Website or View More Families
Lenora New Family