| 1-855-333-4264
Last Activity: 11 hours ago

About Me

photo of adoptive family's story

My Story

About me and why I want to adopt:

I have always known that I wanted to be a mom but the "how" and "when" turned out to be less certain. I am so excited about the prospect of adopting a baby and starting a family. I commit to giving my child the best life possible. I will be there for them, no matter what, and will make sure that they know that they are loved unconditionally. They will always know who they are, where they came from, and how grateful I am for the opportunity to be their mom.

Friends and family:
I had a wonderful childhood and want to pass along this gift to my children. I was born in Germany and moved to Connecticut when I was little with my parents, sister, and brother. My siblings still live on the east coast, and my extended family lives in Germany, but we try to visit often. My parents surrounded us with love and attention and gave us a very secure and stable childhood. We always knew that we were the most important part of their lives. I aspire to be as great a mom as my mom and dad were parents for me.

I am lucky to have a group of amazing friends, here and around the country. Since my family is further away, they are my “chosen family.” Many of my friends also have children and there is a circle of “Aunties,” “Uncles,” and “adopted grandparents” eagerly awaiting the new addition to the family. I share my home with my dog, Bodhi, whom I brought home from a local rescue. He is an active, silly pup with a lot of spunk who makes me laugh every day. Bodhi loves kids and is always ready to cuddle and give big sloppy kisses.

My Work:
As a kid I always liked my science classes and studied biology in college. I moved to San Francisco to go to graduate school for my PhD in neuroscience. I work as the editor of a research journal/magazine that publishes research on the brain. I love my job. Brain science is so fascinating and I have the chance to work with great colleagues and interesting scientists from all over the world. I am also proud that the research we publish may someday help people with brain diseases, like autism, schizophrenia, Alzheimer’s disease, and other difficult conditions. My company is very family friendly, and my job affords me the financial stability and flexibility to be a single parent.

For fun-my hobbies:
Getting outdoors with friends is a favorite way to spend my free time— hiking the many beautiful trails the Bay Area offers, going to the beach or taking Bodhi to local dog parks. I love doing artsy things. I have been doing pottery for many years, and gardening is my other artistic outlet. My home is filled with art, both my own and from friends and family. I can’t wait to break out the crayons and finger-paints with my son or daughter and proudly display their art on the walls. Reading and books are another passion. Reading with my friends’ children is a lot of fun and am looking forward to sharing some of their favorites with my kids. I have been lucky in my life to have traveled all over the world. Travelling has taught me a lot about other people and cultures and about myself. I hope to share the fun and excitement of travel with my children, exploring the world together, near and far.

My wish:
Childhood should be a very special time. There should be a lot of fun and laughter. Most importantly, I want my little one to have a childhood where he or she can be free to play and explore, to learn and discover themselves but also make mistakes, always knowing that they are safe and taken care of and that they will be loved and supported through it all. I promise to raise this child in an environment where they can blossom and bloom and grow up to be the amazing person that they were meant to be.

Thank you for taking the time to get to know me. Please feel free to reach out to me anytime. I am wishing you the best.

To help you get to know me, I've written a letter that tells you more about my life and my values


I also post regular updates on what's happening in my life on my blog:



Please contact me anytime,
by email katja.adopts@gmail.com
by phone 1-855-333-4264 (toll free)

Or you can contact my agency, Independent Adoption Center

My Home

My home and community:
I live in a cozy neighborhood in Berkeley, California, just across the bay from San Francisco. My neighborhood is very family oriented, with many parks and playgrounds and great schools within walking distance. My house is warm and bright, with a big garden with room enough for a sandbox or swing-set someday. Aside from the great weather, natural beauty, and so many fun and interesting things to do here, I like that the Bay Area is very diverse, with people from many different backgrounds and ethnicities and many different types of families. I don’t know how my life will end up, and perhaps one day, we may have a “Dad” in the family, but right now I appreciate that living here, my children will be surrounded my many different types of families.

Thank You for Visiting Our Adoption Profile

We want to thank you for considering us as adoptive parents for your child.

We truly appreciate your kindness and strength and look forward to hearing from you.



1-855-333-4264 (toll-free)

Visit Our Website or View More Families