Kay & Marcus

Contact Us


Last Activity: 18 days ago

About Us

photo of adoptive family's story

Our Story

We’ve been together for over 18 years and married more than 13 of those years. We met while Kay was in her last college year and Marcus was on a college exchange from Germany. After a year Marcus went back to Germany to finish school and we started a long distance relationship.

After 4 years of dating Marcus proposed in 2005 while on vacation in Berlin.

A year later we got married in Jamaica surrounded by our family and friends. It was an easy going and fun wedding. Here is a moment from our wedding and the rest we can share if you want to hear more.

We spend most of our time doing things together since we have similar hobbies and love being a kid with Ari. We travel to see different cultures and trying all types of food. Every year since Ari was born we have visited Europe and Jamaica. We have lots more places to travel and Ari wants to see the African savannah.

We love cooking, gardening, being outside and hosting barbeques. Our favorite dishes are Kay’s roast veggie mac & cheese and hot molten chocolate cake. We are also always at the playground, hiking or walking around our beautiful town. Some weekends we are in New York City taking in a Broadway show, at museums or walking around. Our favorite NYC things to do are seeing a Cirque du Soleil show, National Geographic Ocean Odyssey and trying different restaurants.

During the week when Ari is not in school we are busy with play dates, drumming or soccer classes. Kay is a Stay-at-Home mom and Marcus has the flexibility to work from home. This allows us to never miss out on quality time with Ari. Marcus is always home to play with Ari, bath-time and read bedtime stories. They both look forward to this nightly routine. Our future child will also have this quality family time and attention.

Our families and friends are an important part of our lives. We get together at least once a month and Kay’s mom lives with us. Ari and his grandma have a very close relationship. The first thing Ari does in the morning is head to grandma’s room to hang out. Grandma is excited about becoming a grandma again!

Our Home

photo of adoptive family's home Our home is a 5-bedroom colonial house on a dead end street. On the first floor we have a playroom, living room with a great fireplace, dining room, half bath and kitchen. From first floor we have a full view of the backyard. The back yard has a lot of flowers, a vegetable garden and a swing set. The setup of the first floor allows Ari and his friends to play tag and run races. It’s one of their favorite indoor activities.

The second floor has 3 bedrooms and a really large bathroom. Ari’s room and the nursery are right next to our bedroom. The third floor has 2 bedrooms. One is for grandma and the other is a guest room/ office.

All the rooms have very large windows, so tons of natural light comes through them.

Our town is a 30 minute drive from New York City. It is known for its diversity in race, ethnicity, food, art and culture. It has one of the best public schools in New Jersey. We also have lots of nature reserves, gardens, playgrounds, swimming pools, tennis and basketball courts.

About Kay

I am from Jamaica and moved to the United States when I was 13 years old. I’m the last of 5 kids (Charmaine, Leroy, Mark and Lorraine) and have a close bond with my siblings. I am an out-going, strong-minded and independent person. My family and friends often describe me as passionate, very protective of others and entertaining.

My personality plays a big role in my success and the many roles I have had. I started out as a Chemical Engineer and worked as a Project Manager in a bank. Now I am a Stay-at-Home mom and Baker.

I chose to be a Stay-at-Home mom because I wanted to be present for all of Ari’s amazing moments.

I enjoy the moments I get to be a big kid with Ari. I am the mom who is on the playground swings, the slides or being tackled by a ton of kids. I like to relax with family and friends, make custom organic cakes, work on craft projects and building a community environment for my family. I love to get Marcus and Ari involved with my hobbies. They are taste testers for my custom cakes and baked treats.

I get a lot of joy from volunteering at Ari’s school as classroom parent. I plan activities for parents to get involved. Providing an environment where Ari feels safe and confident is a priority for me. I will give this same gift to our future child.

About Marcus

I was born and raised in a small village in Germany, where we all know each other. Up to age 12, I was the only child in my entire family and for my parents Marlies and Manfred. I am very close to my family, especially since we are only 14 people in total.

As a child and to this day, I’ve loved to travel and explore. It was no surprise when I moved to the United States to do something different from others in my family. I enjoy my job as a management consultant. It allows me to travel, meet new people and spend lots of quality time with Kay and Ari.

I am easy-going and straightforward guy who does not let the little things get to me. My friends, family and co-workers know me for being an honest, reliable and fair.

I love cars, soccer, the outdoors, ice cream and chocolate. I enjoy sharing these with Ari. I’m outside with Ari playing soccer, racing remote control cars (Ferrari vs. Lamborghini) and running around every chance I get. To relax I’ll take my bicycle for a couple hours ride and also go for hikes with Ari. On vacation I snorkel, kayak and swim a lot with Ari.

Spending time with friends and family (including Kay’s family) is a large part of my life and makes me happy.

I hope we will get to know each other!

Thank You for Visiting Our Adoption Profile

We want to thank you for considering us as adoptive parents for your child.

We truly appreciate your kindness and strength and look forward to hearing from you.


Kay & Marcus

347-916-4309 (toll-free)

Visit Our Website or View More Families
Kay & Marcus